Yuen Long District Council by-election poll cards sent to electors

The Registration and Electoral Office (REO) has mailed poll cards to around 9 200 registered electors of the San Tin Constituency to remind them to vote in the Yuen Long District Council by-election on July 14 (Sunday). Letters have also been sent to around 10 400 registered electors of the Shap Pat Heung West Constituency to remind them that they do not have to vote because the candidate for the constituency has been returned uncontested.

"Electors of the San Tin Constituency can log in to the Online Voter Information Enquiry System (<u>www.voterinfo.gov.hk</u>) if they have not yet received their poll cards to check whether they are registered electors of the constituency and their designated polling station. They can also call the election hotline 2891 1001 for enquiries," a spokesman for the REO said today (July 4).

"Electors are advised to read carefully the address of the designated polling station on their poll cards indicating where they should cast their votes," he said.

Together with the poll cards, the REO has sent to every elector of the San Tin Constituency a map showing the location of the designated polling station, a Guide on Voting Procedure, an Introduction to Candidates and a leaflet from the Independent Commission Against Corruption on clean elections.

Two polling stations for the constituency, located at Tun Yu School, San Tin, Yuen Long, New Territories, and St Gavriel Kindergarten, 1 San Wai Tsuen, San Tin, Yuen Long, New Territories, will be open to electors from 7.30am to 10.30pm on the polling day.

If any electors of the San Tin Constituency who are remanded or detained by law enforcement agencies other than the Correctional Services Department (CSD) on the polling day wish to vote in this by-election, they will be arranged to cast their votes at the dedicated polling station located at Yuen Long Police Station, 246 Castle Peak Road, Yuen Long, New Territories. The polling hours will be from 7.30am to 10.30pm.

Should there be any electors of the San Tin Constituency imprisoned or remanded in the CSD's custody on the polling day, arrangements will be made for them to vote at dedicated polling stations set up at their respective penal institutions. For security reasons, polling hours for the dedicated polling stations at penal institutions will be from 9am to 4pm.

The voting procedure for electors and the venue setup at the dedicated polling stations will be basically the same as those of the ordinary polling stations.

The two candidates contesting San Tin Constituency by-election are Man Ka-koy (No. 1) and Man Ka-ho Donald (No. 2). For the Shap Pat Heung West Constituency, as there is only one validly nominated candidate, Leung Fukyuen, the candidate was declared by the Returning Officer on June 21 as being duly elected as an elected member for the above constituency at the byelection in accordance with section 39(1) of the District Councils Ordinance (Cap. 547).