<u>Wu Den-yih elected Kuomintang leader</u>



Wu Den-yih was elected Kuomintang's chairperson on Saturday. [File Photo]

Wu Den-yih was elected Kuomintang's chairperson on Saturday by garnering more than 52 percent of all valid votes, the KMT announced.

The polls opened at 8 a.m. and closed at 4 p.m Saturday. Over 58 percent of the KMT members with voting right cast their votes.

Wu Den-yih secured the lion's share of 144,408 votes, or 52.24 percent, to beat the other five candidates — the incumbent KMT chairwoman Hung Hsiu-chu, vice chairman Hau Lung-bin, former legislator Han Kuo-yu, former KMT vice chairman Steve Chan, as well as former legislator Pan Wei-kang, who garnered 53,063, 44,301, 16,141, 12,332 and 2,437 votes, respectively.

As per the party charter, a candidate wins the election with more than half the votes; otherwise, the top two candidates contest a second round.