Two nominations received for Yau Tsim Mong District Council by-election

Two nominations had been received by the Returning Officer for the byelection for the Tai Nan Constituency of the Yau Tsim Mong District Council at the close of the two-week nomination period at 5pm today (February 21).

Particulars of the nominees are available on the Electoral Affairs Commission website (www.eac.hk/en/distco/2019ytmd to candidates.htm).

A full list of the validly nominated candidates will be published in the Gazette after the Returning Officer has validated and confirmed the eligibility for candidature of the nominees.

If the number of validly nominated candidates is more than one at the by-election, a poll will be held on March 24, 2019 (Sunday).

The Electoral Affairs Commission will hold a briefing for candidates and their agents at the Committee Rooms I-III, 1/F, Queen Elizabeth Stadium, 18 Oi Kwan Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong at 7pm on February 26, 2019 (Tuesday).

The Chairman of the Electoral Affairs Commission, Mr Justice Barnabas Fung Wah, will chair the briefing session and brief candidates and their agents on the guidelines on election-related activities, electoral arrangements for the by-election and the important points to note in running their election campaigns. A representative from the Independent Commission Against Corruption will explain the Elections (Corrupt and Illegal Conduct) Ordinance. A representative from Hongkong Post will also explain the arrangements and requirements of the free postage service for election mails. Representatives from the Registration and Electoral Office and the Department of Justice will also be present.

Before the briefing, the Returning Officer or Assistant Returning Officer will determine the order of appearance of names of candidates on the ballot papers and the allocation of designated spots for the display of election advertisements by drawing of lots.