<u>Terms of non-permanent CFA judges</u> extended

The following is issued on behalf of the Judiciary:

The Chief Executive has accepted the recommendation of the Chief Justice of the Court of Final Appeal to extend the terms of office of three non-permanent judges of the Court of Final Appeal for a period of three years, consisting of two non-permanent Hong Kong judges and one non-permanent judge from another common law jurisdiction:

Non-Permanent Hong Kong Judges

(commencing October 25, 2021)

The Honourable Mr Justice Syed Kemal Shah Bokhary
The Honourable Mr Justice Robert Tang Ching

Non-Permanent Judge from Another Common Law Jurisdiction

(commencing October 1, 2021)

The Right Honourable the Lord Phillips of Worth Matravers

The Hong Kong Court of Final Appeal Ordinance provides for a list of non-permanent Hong Kong judges and a list of judges from other common law jurisdictions. The term of appointment of such judges is three years. That term may be extended for one or more periods of three years by the Chief Executive acting in accordance with the recommendation of the Chief Justice.