Task force meeting on collaboration for planning and development of Hong Kong-Shenzhen control points held in Hong Kong (with photo)

The Secretary for Security, Mr Tang Ping-keung, and Vice Mayor of the Shenzhen Municipal Government Mr Luo Huanghao co-chaired a task force meeting on the collaboration for the planning and development of Hong Kong-Shenzhen control points in Hong Kong today (January 17) to continue taking forward relevant work in the planning and development of boundary control points (BCPs).

Mr Tang welcomed the arrival of the Shenzhen Municipal People's Government leaders, as well as members of the Office of Port of Entry and Exit of the Shenzhen Municipal People's Government and other relevant units, and their participation in the task force meeting to jointly provide innovative thinking to give new impetus to the development of the ports in the two places. He thanked all units of BCPs for their unremitting efforts, especially regarding the special boundary-crossing arrangements at Lo Wu Control Point and Shenzhen Bay Control Point on the recent New Year's Eve, in order to facilitate the passenger flow between Hong Kong and the Mainland for citizens and visitors to enjoy the festive season.

During the meeting, the two delegations discussed the planning and development of land BCPs, including reporting progress and exchanging views on the redevelopment projects of BCPs in Huanggang and Sha Tau Kok, and the transfer of the food control function of Man Kam To Control Point. Hong Kong and Shenzhen will continue holding close exchanges, strive to improve the facilities at BCPs, and boost clearance efficiency and service quality to create more favourable conditions for people of the two places.

â€<0fficials of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government attending the meeting included representatives from the Environment and Ecology Bureau, the Northern Metropolis Co-ordination Office, the Hong Kong Customs and Excise Department, the Immigration Department, the Architectural Services Department, the Planning Department, the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department and the Transport Department.



