## TAC briefed on operation proposals of outlying island ferry services

The following is issued on behalf of the Transport Advisory Committee:

The Transport Advisory Committee (TAC) was briefed today (November 26) on the Government's proposals set out in "The Chief Executive's 2019 Policy Address" regarding the long-term operation model of outlying island ferry services.

In order to help alleviate the burden of fare increases on ferry passengers and enhance the financial viability of the ferry services, the Government will continue to provide Special Helping Measures (SHM) to the six major outlying island ferry routes (Note 1) and extend the measures to the eight other routes (Note 2). The established arrangements in the provision of SHM, including the profit sharing mechanism and mid-term review, will also apply to the eight routes.

In addition, the Government will launch a Vessel Subsidy Scheme (VSS) to replace the fleets of 11 ferry routes (Note 3) and introduce greener vessels to enhance fleet quality and promote environmental protection.

The TAC Chairman, Professor Stephen Cheung, said, "Members support the extension of SHM to cover more outlying island ferry routes and the introduction of the VSS to encourage use of newer and greener vessels. Members offered comments on the implementation details of these two initiatives."

Note 1: The six major routes are "Central – Cheung Chau", "Inter-islands" between Peng Chau, Mui Wo, Chi Ma Wan and Cheung Chau, "Central – Mui Wo", "Central – Peng Chau", "Central – Yung Shue Wan" and "Central – Sok Kwu Wan" routes.

Note 2: The eight other routes are "Aberdeen — Cheung Chau", "Aberdeen — Yung Shue Wan via Pak Kok Tsuen", "Aberdeen — Sok Kwu Wan via Mo Tat", "Tuen Mun — Tung Chung — Sha Lo Wan — Tai O", "Discovery Bay — Mui Wo", "Ma Wan — Central", "Ma Wan — Tsuen Wan" and "Discovery Bay — Central" routes.

Note 3: These 11 routes are the six major routes mentioned in Note 1, as well as the "Aberdeen – Cheung Chau", "Aberdeen – Yung Shue Wan via Pak Kok Tsuen", "Aberdeen – Sok Kwu Wan via Mo Tat", "Tuen Mun – Tung Chung – Sha Lo Wan – Tai O" and "Discovery Bay – Mui Wo" routes.