<u>Submitting a planning appeal has</u> <u>changed for an additional 69 local</u> <u>authority areas — find out where</u>

News story

We have expanded the number of local planning authority (LPA) areas that can use the new service to submit appeals.



Last month <u>we announced a change in how to submit planning appeals for 30 LPA areas</u> and we have now expanded this number to include an additional 69 LPA areas. See the end of this article for the full list of LPA areas.

What is the new service?

We are designing a new planning appeals service to be easier, faster and more cost effective. The first part of these improvements focuses on the appeal submission form, and we have now introduced a new form for submitting full planning (s78) and householder appeals in some local authority areas of England. This builds on the <u>smaller pilot we ran earlier this year</u>.

In the coming months we will be adding additional LPAs and new features to the service.

The video below explains how to appeal a planning decision using the beta service.

https://youtu.be/elPmdK6Wr4c

What's changed?

For now, people submitting appeals for <u>householder</u> or <u>full planning decisions</u> (<u>\$78</u>) in the regions mentioned below are eligible to use the new submission form.

The main difference will be a simpler, more intuitive appeal submission

process, using standardised government formats, which are familiar across government services. Eligible users will be able to start their appeal on GOV.UK instead of the Appeals Casework Portal (ACP).

The submission form includes built in guidance as well as validation to ensure appeals are submitted with all the correct information.

Over the coming weeks we will make a change so that eligible appeals are redirected from the ACP to the correct start page on GOV.UK. We have also asked LPAs in the participating regions to update hyperlinks in their planning decision notices where permission is refused.

What's coming up next?

We will soon be releasing the final comments submission process for cases submitted via the new service. We continue to work on the design and development of other case types, such as appeals for listed building consent and enforcement. We are also improving the design of the LPA questionnaire and statement submission process.

Which regions are included?

East Midlands

- Bolsover District Council
- Chesterfield Borough Council
- North Northamptonshire Council

East of England

- Central Bedfordshire Council
- East Suffolk Council
- Harlow Council
- South Norfolk Council
- Uttlesford District Council

London

- Barnet London Borough Council
- Brent London Borough Council
- Bromley London Borough Council
- Camden London Borough Council
- Croydon London Borough Council
- Enfield London Borough Council
- Havering London Borough Council
- Hillingdon London Borough Council
- Islington London Borough Council
- Kensington and Chelsea Royal London Borough Council
- Lambeth London Borough Council
- Old Oak and Park Royal Development Corporation
- The City of London Corporation

North East

- Darlington Borough Council
- Durham County Council
- Gateshead Council
- Hartlepool Borough Council
- Middlesbrough Council
- Newcastle City Council
- North Tyneside Council
- Northumberland County Council
- Northumberland National Park Authority
- Redcar and Cleveland Borough Council
- South Tyneside Council
- Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council
- Sunderland City Council

North West

- Barrow-in-Furness Borough Council
- Cheshire East Council
- Cheshire West and Chester Council
- Ribble Valley Borough Council
- Sefton Council
- Wirral Council

South East

- Ashford Borough Council
- Buckinghamshire Council
- Crawley Borough Council
- Dartford Borough Council
- Folkestone and Hythe District Council
- Gosport Borough Council
- Isle of Wight Council
- Milton Keynes City Council
- New Forest District Council
- New Forest National Park Authority
- Oxford City Council
- Reading Borough Council
- Rushmoor Borough Council
- Sevenoaks District Council
- Slough Borough Council
- Southampton City Council
- Swale Borough Council
- Thanet District Council
- Tunbridge Wells Borough Council
- Wealden District Council
- West Berkshire Council

South West

• Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Council

- Bristol City Council
- Cheltenham Borough Council
- Cornwall Council
- Cotswold District Council
- Council of the Isles of Scilly
- Dartmoor National Park Authority
- Dorset Council
- East Devon District Council
- Exeter City Council
- Exmoor National Park Authority
- Forest of Dean District Council
- Gloucester City Council
- Mendip District Council
- Mid Devon District Council
- North Devon Council
- North Somerset Council
- Plymouth City Council
- Sedgemoor District Council
- Somerset West and Taunton Council
- South Gloucestershire Council
- South Somerset District Council
- Swindon Borough Council
- West Devon Borough Council
- Wiltshire Council

West Midlands

- Birmingham City Council
- Cannock Chase District Council
- Newcastle-under-Lyme Borough Council
- Redditch Borough Council
- South Derbyshire District Council
- Staffordshire Moorlands District Council
- Tamworth Borough Council
- Walsall Council

Yorkshire and the Humber

- City of Bradford Metropolitan District Council
- East Riding of Yorkshire Council
- Harrogate Borough Council
- Kirklees Council
- Leeds City Council
- North East Lincolnshire Council
- Wakefield Council

Published 2 November 2022