Sixth meeting of Joint Task Force on the Development of the Hong Kong-Shenzhen Innovation and Technology Park in the Loop held

The Secretary for Innovation and Technology, Mr Nicholas W Yang, and the Vice Mayor of Shenzhen Municipality, Mr Ai Xuefeng, co-chaired the sixth meeting of the Joint Task Force on the Development of the Hong Kong-Shenzhen Innovation and Technology Park in the Loop in Shenzhen today (December 6).

Both sides received a briefing on the work progress by the Hong Kong-Shenzhen Innovation and Technology Park Limited (HSITPL). Representatives from the Shenzhen Government introduced the latest development of the Shenzhen Innovation and Technology Zone. The meeting also discussed the works progress of supporting infrastructure in the Lok Ma Chau Loop and updated progress on the bioremediation for sediment treatment in the Shenzhen River of Main Works Package 1. They also exchanged views on construction arrangements.

To facilitate Batch 1 development, the HSITPL is conducting two consultancy studies, namely the technical feasibility study and the economic impact analysis study of Batch 1 development.

As for supporting infrastructure works, the Advance Works of the Loop are in good progress. If everything goes smoothly, the target of making the first batch of land parcels available by 2021 for the Loop remains unchanged and the first building can hopefully be completed in 2023.

As regards the bioremediation for sediment treatment in the Shenzhen River, the Civil Engineering and Development Department (CEDD) has commenced relevant work for the on-site pilot test, and will continue to closely coordinate and share the results of the test with the Shenzhen River Regulation Office of the Shenzhen Municipal People's Government. The CEDD will also discuss with the Shenzhen side on the detailed arrangement of collaborating in carrying out bioremediation for sediment treatment in a river section adjacent/near to the Lok Ma Chau Loop.

Other officials of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government attending the meeting today included the Permanent Secretary for Innovation and Technology, Ms Annie Choi; the Commissioner for Innovation and Technology, Ms Rebecca Pun; and representatives from the Development Bureau, the Constitutional and Mainland Affairs Bureau, the Education Bureau, the Commerce and Economic Development Bureau, the Innovation and Technology Commission, and the CEDD.