<u>Separation Agreement Joint Committee</u> <u>between the United Kingdom and the EEA</u> <u>EFTA states: joint statement from the</u> <u>second meeting</u>

News story

The statement follows the second meeting of the Separation Agreement Joint Committee between the UK Government and the Government of Iceland, the Principality of Liechtenstein and the Kingdom of Norway (May 2021).



The second meeting of the Separation Agreement Joint Committee was held today, chaired by officials from the Government of Iceland, with representatives from the Principality of Liechtenstein, the Kingdom of Norway and the United Kingdom (UK) in attendance. <u>The Committee</u> has been established by the Separation Agreement to monitor its implementation and application, for EEA EFTA nationals in the UK, and UK nationals in the EEA EFTA States.

At the meeting, representatives from Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein and the UK gave updates on their implementation and application of the Separation Agreement, with a particular emphasis on the provisions relating to citizens' rights. Representatives of the EFTA Surveillance Authority and the Independent Monitoring Authority also attended, presenting information on the monitoring of the implementation and application of the Separation Agreement.

The EEA EFTA States and the UK also adopted a Decision amending Part I of Annex I to the Separation Agreement, in order to include recent relevant Decisions of the Administrative Commission for the Coordination of Social Security Systems.

The EEA EFTA States and the UK share the objective of ensuring the continued correct implementation and application of the Separation Agreement, to provide certainty to citizens.

Published 27 May 2021