Re-appointment of Disaster Relief Fund Advisory Committee members

The Government announced today (December 7) that the Chief Executive has re-appointed Dr Tik Chi-yuen and Mrs Ann Kung Yeung Yun-chi as members of the Disaster Relief Fund Advisory Committee for two years starting from January 1, 2019.

"Dr Tik and Mrs Kung have been participating actively in the work of the Committee, drawing from their professional knowledge and experience and offering valuable advice. We look forward to their further contribution to the Committee," a Government spokesman said.

The Disaster Relief Fund was established by a Legislative Council resolution on December 1, 1993 to provide a ready mechanism for Hong Kong to respond swiftly to international appeals for humanitarian aid in relief of disasters that occur outside Hong Kong. The Disaster Relief Fund Advisory Committee is responsible for advising on fund disbursement and monitoring the use of grants by the recipients.

The membership of the Advisory Committee from January 1, 2019 is as follows:

Chairman:

Chief Secretary for Administration (ex-officio)

Members:

Mr Ip Kwok-him

Dr Lam Ching-choi

Dr Helena Wong Pik-wan

Mr Kenneth Lau Ip-keung

Dr Tik Chi-yuen

Mrs Ann Kung Yeung Yun-chi

Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury or representative (exofficio)

Secretary for Labour and Welfare or representative (ex-officio)