Press Releases: Eliminate, Neutralize, and Disrupt (END) Wildlife Trafficking Report 2018

Media Note Office of the Spokesperson

Washington, DC October 9, 2018

Today the U.S. Department of State submitted the second annual report to Congress as required by the Eliminate, Neutralize, and Disrupt Wildlife Trafficking Act of 2016 (the END Wildlife Trafficking Act).

Wildlife trafficking is a serious transnational crime that threatens security, economic prosperity, the rule of law, long-standing conservation efforts, and human health. In Executive Order 13773, President Trump called for a comprehensive and decisive approach to dismantle organized crime syndicates, specifically recognizing the connection between wildlife trafficking and transnational organized criminal networks. The United States government's three-pronged approach to combating wildlife trafficking—strengthening law enforcement, reducing demand, and building international cooperation—deprives criminals of a key source of financing, reducing the criminal threat posed to U.S. citizens.

The END Wildlife Trafficking Act directs the Secretary of State, in consultation with the Secretaries of the Interior and Commerce, to submit to Congress a report that lists Focus Countries and Countries of Concern, as defined in the Act. Each Focus Country is a major source, transit point, or consumer of wildlife trafficking products or their derivatives. Identification as a Focus Country is neither a positive nor a negative designation. Many Focus Countries have taken significant steps to combat wildlife trafficking, including in partnership with the United States. A Country of Concern is defined as a Focus Country whose government has actively engaged in or knowingly profited from the trafficking of endangered or threatened species. The United States looks forward to continuing dialogue with both Focus Countries and Countries of Concern to thwart transnational organized crime engaged in wildlife trafficking.

The 2018 Focus Countries are Bangladesh, Brazil, Burma, Cambodia, Cameroon, China, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Gabon, India, Indonesia, Kenya, Laos, Madagascar, Malaysia, Mexico, Mozambique, Nigeria, Philippines,

Republic of the Congo, South Africa, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, and Vietnam. The 2018 Countries of Concern are Madagascar, Democratic Republic of the Congo, and Laos.

For more information, please contact <u>OES-PA-DG@state.gov</u> and follow the Bureau of Oceans and International Environmental and Scientific Affairs on Twitter @StateDeptOES.

The Office of Website Management, Bureau of Public Affairs, manages this site as a portal for information from the U.S. State Department. External links to other Internet sites should not be construed as an endorsement of the views or privacy policies contained therein.