<u>Press release: Simon Hart MP joins the</u> Committee on Standards in Public Life

Simon Hart MP has been appointed as the Conservative party member of the independent Committee on Standards in Public life.

The <u>Committee on Standards in Public Life</u> advises the Prime Minister on ethical standards across the whole of public life in the UK. It monitors and reports on issues relating to the standards of conduct of all public office holders.

The Committee is made up of an independent Chair, 4 independent members appointed by the Prime Minister following open competition in accordance with the <u>Public Appointments Governance Code</u>, and 3 political members appointed by the Prime Minister on the recommendation of the leaders of the main parties.

The Committee on Standards in Public Life is currently conducting a short review of the issue of <u>intimidation experienced by Parliamentary candidates</u>, and the broader implications of this for other holders of public office, following a request from the Prime Minister. The Committee has published the terms of reference for this review and published a <u>call for evidence</u> yesterday.

Notes to Editors

- 1. Interview requests and media enquiries should go to Maggie O'Boyle on 07880 740627.
- 2. Simon Hart is Conservative MP for Carmarthen West & South Pembrokeshire, first elected in May 2010. Since being elected Simon has been a member of the Political and Constitutional Reform Select Committee, the Welsh Affairs Select Committee and the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Select Committee. He has also been a member/Chair of several APPGs including Tourism in Wales, Learning outside the Classroom, Marine Energy & Tidal Lagoons, EU/US Trade, and others. Additionally, Simon sits on the UK Delegation of the OSCE PA and is Chairman of the United & Cecil Club. Prior to being elected he was Chief Executive of the Countryside Alliance, and remains Chairman of the organisation.
- 3. Simon Hart MP replaces Dame Angela Watkinson DBE who stood down at the 2017 election.
- 4. The other members of the Committee are: Lord (Paul) Bew, Chairman, Rt Hon Dame Margaret Beckett DBE MP, Dr Jane Martin CBE, Sheila Drew Smith OBE, Jane Ramsey, Monisha Shah, and Rt Hon Lord (Andrew) Stunell.