Press release: Service enabling faster UK border entry expanded to 15 new countries

From today (5 October), frequent travellers to the UK from 15 new countries are eligible to apply for membership of the service, which brings the potential for improved trade and tourism links.

The new countries to be covered by the service are Andorra, Bahamas, Botswana, Holy See (Vatican City), Macao, Maldives, Monaco, Namibia, Nauru, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Seychelles, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Tonga and Trinidad & Tobago.

They join countries such as the United States, Australia, Canada and Japan who are already benefiting from the service.

Last month, the service — which had previously only been open to adults — was also expanded to the 0 to 17 year old dependants of members, which enables families to access the benefits of the service in order to travel more easily together.

Immigration Minister Brandon Lewis said:

Registered Traveller is one of the many ways in which the government is making it easier for businesses across the world to do business with the UK.

With over 81,000 members signed up to the service already, I look forward to watching the service grow in the future.

Registered Traveller allows approved members, who have undergone advanced security checks, faster entry at the UK border through access to the ePassport gates (if they hold an ePassport) or the UK/EU passport lane.

To be eligible to apply, passengers must hold an eligible passport and have a visa or have visited the UK at least 4 times in the past 2 years.

More information and application forms can be found on the <u>Registered</u> <u>Traveller pages</u>.