<u>Press release - Election of the new European Commission</u>



Starting at 9.00, Ursula von der Leyen, President-elect of the European Commission, will present her <u>team of Commissioners-designate</u> (already vetted by MEPs in the <u>recent hearings</u>) and discuss the new <u>Commission's objectives</u> with Parliament.

After the debate, each political group will briefly meet to discuss their voting intentions.

The election at noon will be preceded by statements from the leaders of the political groups (in reverse order of the size of their groups).

A <u>press conference</u> by EP President Sassoli and President-elect von der Leyen is scheduled for 13.30.

Background

Results of previous Commission investiture votes:

- 10.2014 Jean-Claude Juncker 423 votes in favour 209 against 67 abstentions (total number of MEPs 751)
- 02.2010 José Manuel Barroso 488-137-72 (total number of MEPs 736)
- 11.2004 José Manuel Barroso 478-84-98 (total number of MEPs 732)
- 09.1999 Romano Prodi 510-51-28 (total number of MEPs 626)
- 01.1995 Jacques Santer 417-104-59 (total number of MEPs 567)

You can follow the debate, the vote and the press conference live here.