<u>Press release – COVID-19 and natural</u> <u>disasters: €823 million in EU aid for</u> <u>eight member states</u>



The \in 823 million in aid from the <u>European Union Solidarity Fund (EUSF)</u> will be distributed as follows:

- More than €132.7 million to be distributed in advance payments to Germany, Ireland, Greece, Spain, Croatia, Hungary, and Portugal in response to the major public health emergency caused by the COVID-19 pandemic in early 2020.
- Croatia will receive €683.7 million to help the country deal with the devastating effects of the earthquake in Zagreb and the surrounding area in March 2020. A first disbursement of €88.9 million was already released in August 2020.
- More than €7 million will go to Poland to assist reconstruction efforts following floods in the Podkarpackie Voivodeship province in June this year.

EU Solidarity Fund modified in response to COVID-19

As part of the <u>Coronavirus Response Investment Initiative</u> (CRII), in 2020 the scope of the EU <u>Solidarity Fund rules was extended</u>, enabling the EU to help countries respond to major public health emergencies.

Overall, 19 EU countries (Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czechia, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, and Spain) and three accession countries (Albania, Montenegro, and Serbia) have requested assistance in tackling the consequences of the COVID-19 crisis. Of these, seven countries requested that the payment be made in advance, which Parliament approved with this vote.

Background information on the EU Solidarity Fund

More information and a table with precise amounts per country can be found in <u>Parliament's report</u> and the <u>Commission's proposal</u>.

The <u>report</u>, drafted by <u>Olivier Chastel</u> (RENEW, BE), recommending the approval of the aid was adopted by 682 votes in favour, 8 against and 2 abstentions.

The <u>report approving the accompanying draft amending budget</u>, by rapporteur <u>Monika Hohlmeier</u> (EPP, DE), was adopted with 682 votes in favour, 8 against and 2 abstentions.

Next steps

The Council of Ministers approved the advance payments on 30 October, which can now be disbursed following the plenary vote. The Commission is currently assessing the applications received. Once this assessment has been completed, the Commission will put forward a proposal to make the final payments.