Press release: AI and Public Standards - Committee announces review

The <u>Committee on Standards in Public Life</u> has today announced a review into whether the existing frameworks and regulations are sufficient to ensure that high standards of conduct are upheld as technologically assisted decision-making is adopted more widely across the public sector.

Publishing the terms of reference for the inquiry today, <u>Lord Evans</u>, <u>Chair of</u> the Committee on Standards in Public Life said:

"Honesty, integrity, objectivity, openness, leadership, selflessness and accountability were first outlined by Lord Nolan as the standards expected of those who act on the public's behalf.

"These principles have stood the test of time and are deeply embedded across much of the public sector — from the Civil Service and NHS bodies to local councils and schools. The increasing development and use of data and data-enabled technologies in our public services can potentially bring huge advantages in terms of pace and scale of service delivery, but there are some major ethical and practical challenges about what this means for accountability, objectivity and the other Nolan principles.

"As the Committee celebrates its 25th year as an advisory body conducting broad reviews of key ethical issues, we want to look at what the future holds for public services and help ensure that high standards of conduct continue to be 'built in' to new ways of making decisions on the public's behalf.

"We are keen to hear from individuals and organisations who are developing policy, systems or safeguards on the use of AI as we gather evidence for this review."

The Committee expects to publish its report in the New Year.

Notes to Editors

- 1. Interview requests and media enquiries should go to Maggie O'Boyle on 07880 740627.
- 2. The independent Committee on Standards in Public Life advises the Prime Minister on ethical standards across the whole of public life in the UK. It monitors and reports on issues relating to the standards of conduct of all public office holders. To find out more about the Committee's work click here.
- 3. The current members of the Committee are: Lord (Jonathan) Evans, Chairman, Rt Hon Dame Margaret Beckett DBE MP (Labour), Simon Hart MP (Conservative), Dr Jane Martin CBE, Dame Shirley Pearce DBE, Jane Ramsey, Monisha Shah and Rt Hon Lord (Andrew) Stunell OBE (Liberal Democrat).
- 4. You can follow the Committee on twitter @PublicStandards.