<u>Ports across England to receive £10</u> <u>million to support Brexit transition</u>



- Major port areas to receive a share of £10 million for transition planning
- Money will help the local area to prepare for the end of the transition period.

Councils across England will receive a share of £10 million to support their preparations for the end of the transition period, Local Government Secretary Robert Jenrick has announced (Monday 16 November).

The fund will help councils prepare for changes at the border, bolstering local plans to ensure operations can continue to run smoothly at the end of the transition period.

For example, Kent County Council will receive £1.7 million to help with preparations for Operation Brock, the planned traffic management system for ports including Dover and Folkestone. The funding will be used to ensure traffic at the port and in the surrounding areas can move easily, preventing delays to freight and other vital local services.

In addition, Hull City Council which has a high impact Roll-on Roll-off port will receive funding to help respond to any localised disruption. Other areas such as Doncaster will receive additional funding to support local priorities and employ specialist staff to help with their transition planning and reporting to ensure they can continue to deliver vital services.

This share of the additional £10 million comes on top of £704 million government investment into our borders, including £470 million for port infrastructure.

We continue to engage with local areas on what support they may need to ensure an orderly end to the transition period.

The money is an unringfenced allocation covering spend in 2020 to 2021.

Full allocations:

• Ashford Borough Council - £1 million • Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Council - £86,000 • Bristol City Council - £86,000 • Cheshire West and Chester Council - £86,000 • Dartford Borough Council - £500,000 • Doncaster Council - £86,000 • Dover District Council - £500,000 • East Riding of Yorkshire Council - £86,000 • East Suffolk District Council - £150,000 • East Sussex County Council - £86,000 • Epping District Council - £500,000 • Essex County Council - £150,000 • Folkestone and Hythe District Council - £150,000 • Great Yarmouth Borough Council - £86,000 • Hampshire County Council - £150,000 • Hull City Council - £150,000 • Ipswich City Council - £86,000 • Kent County Council/Kent Relief Forum - £1.7 million • Lancashire County Council - £150,000 • Lancaster City Council - £150,000 • Medway Unitary Authority - £150,000 • North East Lincolnshire Council - £150,000 • North Lincolnshire Council - £150,000 • North Tyneside Council - £86,000 • Plymouth City Council - £86,000 • Portsmouth City Council - £150,000 • Redcar and Cleveland Unitary Authority - £150,000 • Sefton Council - £150,000 • Solihull Metro Borough Council - £800,000 • South Holland District Council - £86,000 • Southampton City Council - £150,000 • Tendring District Council - £150,000 • Thanet District Council - £500,000 • Thurrock Council - £500,000 • Warrington Borough Council - £800,000 Published 18 November 2020 Last updated 18 November 2020 + show all updates 1. 18 November 2020 First published.