Over 1 600 teachers commended at Teachers' Day ceremony (with photos)

The following is issued on behalf of the Committee on Respect Our Teachers Campaign:

Organised by the Committee on Respect Our Teachers Campaign (CROTC), the Salute to Teachers 2024 — Teachers' Day and Commendation Certificate Presentation Ceremony was held today (September 10). The Acting Secretary for Education, Mr Sze Chun-fai, officiated at the ceremony this year and paid tribute to more than 1 600 teachers, the highest number on record, for their dedication to the teaching profession.

The Chairman of the CROTC, Mr William Lee, expressed appreciation for the dedication and professionalism of teachers. They work tirelessly every day to nurture students, cultivate their moral integrity, guide them in their pursuit of goals with dedication, and contribute to society in the future, he said.

Mr Sze expressed gratitude to all teachers for nurturing talent with dedication. He said that Hong Kong has many professional and excellent teachers. They have solid knowledge, professional teaching competencies, high moral character, and can lead by example to serve as role models for students. Their tireless and selfless dedication is worth our respect, he added.

Mr Sze said that a professional and conscientious teaching force is the key to the success for Hong Kong's high-quality education development. The Education Bureau is committed to supporting the professional development of teachers by providing systematic training for them at different stages of professional development and supporting teachers to enhance their professionalism to cope with the duties and challenges of different positions. He was confident that Hong Kong's teaching force will continue to keep abreast of the times, uphold the core mission of "cultivating values and nurturing talent", strengthen students' affection for and sense of belonging to the country, and sharpen students' skills and abilities.

Organised by the CROTC, and in its 29th year, the Teachers' Commendation Scheme aims to foster a culture of respect for teachers. Secondary schools, primary schools, kindergartens and special schools may each nominate two teachers who have shown commitment and excellence in teaching. Over 38 000 teachers have been commended.

Other officiating guests at the ceremony today included the Permanent Secretary for Education, Ms Michelle Li; the Chairman of the Education Commission, Dr David Wong; and the Chairman of the Committee on Professional Development of Teachers and Principals, Professor Alvin Leung.



