New NHS Wales chairs appointed

Ann Lloyd CBE has been appointed Chair of Aneurin Bevan University Health Board. She replaces David Jenkins, and will commence her four year term of office during June 2017.

Jan Williams OBE has been appointed Chair of Public Health Wales NHS Trust. She replaces Professor Sir Mansel Aylward, and will commence her four year term of office on 5 September 2017.

Professor Marcus Longley has been appointed Chair of Cwm Taf University Health Board. He replaces Dr Chris Jones, and will commence his four year term of office on 1 October 2017.

Vaughan Gething said:

"I'm very pleased to appoint Ann Lloyd, Jan Williams and Marcus Longley to their new roles.

"I attach great importance to the appointment of chairs, who are chosen for their skills and experience, and for the contribution they can make to the work of the Health Board.

"I am confident they have the necessary skills to take on what are challenging roles, and look forward to working with them to deliver the Welsh Government's ambitious programme to create a healthy and active Wales."

These appointments have been made in accordance with the Governance Code on Public Appointments. All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for the political activity of appointees (if any declared) to be published. No political activity has been declared.