## <u>New members appointed to Committee on</u> <u>Reduction of Salt and Sugar in Food</u>

The Food and Health Bureau announced today (April 12) the appointment of Mr Kiyotaka Ando, Mr Peter Johnston and Mr Gerry Ma Kwai-yung as new members to the Committee on Reduction of Salt and Sugar in Food for the period from April 15, 2019, to March 14, 2021.

The Secretary for Food and Health, Professor Sophia Chan, said, "The Committee has all along been providing invaluable and practical recommendations to the Food and Health Bureau in taking forward initiatives to reduce the salt and sugar intake of the general public. I look forward to receiving further advice from the Committee."

The Committee was established in March 2015 to steer the direction and co-ordinate the work of reducing salt and sugar intake by the local population, and formulate and oversee the implementation and evaluation of the Action Plans for Salt and Sugar Reduction in Food in Hong Kong.

With effect from April 15, 2019, the membership of the Committee is as follows:

Chairman

Mr Bernard Charnwut Chan

Vice-Chairman

Dr Mak Sin-ping

Non-official members

Mr Kiyotaka Ando\* Mr Peter Johnston\* Professor Kwan Hoi-shan Mr Lam Chiu-wing Ms Sylvia Lam See-way Miss Winona Lo Oi-ling Professor Ronald Ma Ching-wan Mr Gerry Ma Kwai-yung\* Mrs Elizabeth Mok Lee Mi-yu Dr Ricky Szeto Wing-fu Dr Terry Ting Ho-yan Ms Tse Po-chu Mr Clory Wong Ms Gilly Wong Fung-han Mr Jason Wong Ho-yin Ex-officio members

Representative of Food and Health Bureau Representative of Food and Environmental Hygiene Department Representative of Department of Health Representative of Education Bureau

\* new members