## New chairman appointed to Transport Advisory Committee

The Government announced today (September 28) that the Chief Executive has appointed Professor Stephen Cheung Yan-leung as Chairman of the Transport Advisory Committee (TAC) for two years with effect from October 1, 2018. Professor Cheung will succeed Mr Larry Kwok Lam-kwong, who has served as Chairman of the TAC for six years. The Chief Executive has also re-appointed Ms Shalini Mahtani to the TAC for a period of two years from the same date. The appointments are published in the Gazette today.

In announcing the Chief Executive's decision, a spokesman for the Transport and Housing Bureau said, "We are most grateful to Mr Kwok for his dedication to transport matters and his contributions to the TAC during his term of office. Under his sterling leadership, the TAC has dealt with many important and challenging transport issues in the past six years, including the submission of the Report on Study of Road Traffic Congestion in Hong Kong to the Government in 2014.

"We are confident that under Professor Cheung's leadership, the TAC will continue to tender impartial advice on transport issues to the Government," said the spokesman.

The TAC is a key advisory body to the Government on broad issues of transport policy and major transport-related proposals. Currently, the TAC comprises 14 non-official members, including the Chairman, and three exofficio members. Its membership and terms of reference are available at <a href="https://www.thb.gov.hk/eng/boards/transport/land/tac.htm">www.thb.gov.hk/eng/boards/transport/land/tac.htm</a>.