New Board Members appointed to the Joint Nature Conservation Committee



Defra Ministers have appointed Catherine Denholm and Tom Meagher as Board Members of the Joint Nature Conservation Committee (JNCC).

The appointments were made in conjunction with the devolved administrations, and are for a three-year term from 4 April 2022 to 3 April 2025.

The new appointments have all been made in accordance with the Ministerial Governance Code on Public Appointments published by the Cabinet Office. Appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process.

Remuneration is £9,836 per annum based on a time commitment of 2.5 days per month.

The JNCC was established in 1991 and reconstituted in the Natural Environment and Rural Communities Act (2006) as a non-departmental public body. The JNCC advises the UK Government and Devolved Administrations of Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales on UK-wide and international nature conservation.

Biographical details

Catherine Denholm

Catherine Denholm is the Chief Operating Officer for the Equality and Human Rights Commission. She also served as Deputy Chair of NatureScot from 2019 to March 2022. She was awarded honorary membership of the Faculty of Public Health in 2020 and is Vice Chair of Impact Arts.

Tom Meagher

Tom Meagher is a botanist and Professor and Chair of Plant Biology at the University of St Andrews. Tom is a former Trustee of the Royal Botanic Garden, Edinburgh and was previously a member of the Natural Environment Research Council and the Defra Science Advisory Committee.

Published 28 March 2022

Last updated 25 April 2022 <u>+ show all updates</u>

1. 25 April 2022

Edited as Rosie Hails is no longer taking up the role of Board Member for the ${\sf JNCC}\,.$

2. 28 March 2022

First published.