LegCo to debate motions on protest occurred outside Legislative Council on June 12, 2019

The following is issued on behalf of the Legislative Council Secretariat:

The Legislative Council (LegCo) will hold a meeting tomorrow (December 18) at 11am in the Chamber of the LegCo Complex. During the meeting, Mr Andrew Wan, Mr Jeremy Tam and Dr Kwok Ka-ki will move three separate motions under Article 73(5) and (10) of the Basic Law and the Legislative Council (Powers and Privileges) Ordinance, in relation to the protest occurred outside the Legislative Council on June 12, 2019. The motions are set out in Appendices 1-3 respectively.

Mr Lam Cheuk-ting and Ms Claudia Mo will move two separate motions under the Legislative Council (Powers and Privileges) Ordinance, in relation to the incident of assaults occurred in Yuen Long Station of West Rail Line of the MTR Corporation Limited on July 21, 2019. The motions are set out in Appendices 4 and 5 respectively.

Mr Alvin Yeung, Dr Kwok Ka-ki and Mr Kwong Chun-yu will move three separate motions under Article 73(5) and (10) of the Basic Law and the Legislative Council (Powers and Privileges) Ordinance, in relation to the incident of assaults occurred in Prince Edward Station of the MTR Corporation Limited on August 31, 2019. The motions are set out in Appendices 6-8 respectively.

Ms Tanya Chan, Dr Kwok Ka-ki, Dr Fernando Cheung and Mr Kenneth Leung will move seven separate motions under Article 73(5) and (10) of the Basic Law and the Legislative Council (Powers and Privileges) Ordinance, in relation to the Police's handling of protesters and persons performing duties in the protests during the "anti-extradition to China" movement. The motions are set out in Appendices 9-15 respectively.

Mr Chung Kwok-pan and Dr Priscilla Leung will also move two separate motions under the Legislative Council (Powers and Privileges) Ordinance, in relation to the causes and consequences of the social conflicts or disturbances arising from the amendments to the Fugitive Offenders Ordinance and related matters. The motions are set out in Appendices 16 and 17 respectively. Mr James To will move an amendment to Dr Priscilla Leung's motion.

Meanwhile, Mr Dennis Kwok will move a motion on no confidence in the Fifth Term Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region as set out in Appendix 18. Ms Claudia Mo will move an amendment to Mr Dennis Kwok's motion.

Mr Ho Kai-ming will move a motion on ensuring children's right to play for them to grow up happily. The motion is set out in Appendix 19. Mr Ip Kin-yuen, Dr Kwok Ka-ki, Dr Fernando Cheung, Dr Chiang Lai-wan and Mr Hui Chifung will move separate amendments to Mr Ho Kai-ming's motion.

On Government Bill, the Inland Revenue (Amendment) (Profits Tax Concessions for Insurance-related Businesses) Bill 2019 will be introduced into the Council for the First Reading and the Second Reading. The Second Reading debate on the Bill will be adjourned.

During the meeting, Members will also ask the Government 22 questions on various policy areas, six of which require oral replies.

The agenda of the above meeting can be obtained via the LegCo Website (http://www.legco.gov.hk). Please note that the agenda is subject to change, and the latest information about the agenda could be found on the LegCo Website.

Members of the public are welcome to observe the proceedings of the meeting from the public galleries of the Chamber of the LegCo Complex. They may reserve seats by calling 3919 3399 during office hours. Members of the public can also watch or listen to the meeting via the Webcast system on the LegCo Website.