<u>LegCo to debate motion under Rule</u> <u>49B(1) of Rules of Procedure</u>

The following is issued on behalf of the Legislative Council Secretariat:

The Legislative Council (LegCo) will hold a meeting tomorrow (December 11) at 11am in the Chamber of the LegCo Complex. During the meeting, Mr Wong Ting-kwong and Mr Wong Kwok-kin will move separate motions under Rule 49B(1) of the Rules of Procedure to relieve Ms Tanya Chan and Mr Shiu Ka-chun of their duties as Members of the Legislative Council. The motions are set out in Appendices 1 and 2 respectively.

Dr Kwok Ka-ki and Ms Claudia Mo will move separate motions under Rule 49B(1A) of the Rules of Procedure to censure Dr Junius Ho. The motions are set out in Appendices 3 and 4 respectively.

Ms Yung Hoi-yan and Dr Ho will also move separate motions under Rule 49B(1A) of the Rules of Procedure to censure Dr Cheng Chung-tai and Mr Lam Cheuk-ting. The motions are set out in Appendices 5 and 6 respectively.

The Chief Secretary for Administration will present "The Government Minute in response to the Report of the Public Accounts Committee No. 71A and No. 72 of May and July 2019" and address the Council.

On Government Bill, the Fisheries Protection (Amendment) Bill 2019 will be introduced into the Council for the First Reading and the Second Reading. The Second Reading debate on the Bill will be adjourned.

On Members' motions, Dr Chiang Lai-wan will move a proposed resolution under section 34(4) of the Interpretation and General Clauses Ordinance to extend the period for amending the Veterinary Surgeons Board (Election of Members) Regulation, laid on the table of the Council on November 13, 2019, to the meeting of January 8, 2020. The proposed resolution is set out in Appendix 7.

Mr Dennis Kwok will move a motion under Article 73(5) and (10) of the Basic Law to summon the Secretary for Justice and Director of the Chief Executive's Office to produce papers and testify. The motion is set out in Appendix 8.

Mr Andrew Wan, Mr Jeremy Tam, Dr Kwok and Mr Au Nok-hin will move four separate motions under the Legislative Council (Powers and Privileges) Ordinance and Article 73(5) and (10) of the Basic Law, in relation to the protest occurred outside the Legislative Council on June 12, 2019. The motions are set out in Appendices 9-12 respectively.

Mr Lam and Ms Mo will move two separate motions under the Legislative Council (Powers and Privileges) Ordinance, in relation to the incident of

assaults occurred in Yuen Long Station of West Rail Line of the MTR Corporation Limited on July 21, 2019. The motions are set out in Appendices 13 and 14 respectively.

Mr Alvin Yeung, Dr Kwok and Mr Kwong Chun-yu will move three separate motions under the Legislative Council (Powers and Privileges) Ordinance and Article 73(5) and (10) of the Basic Law, in relation to the incident of assaults occurred in Prince Edward Station of the MTR Corporation Limited on August 31, 2019. The motions are set out in Appendices 15-17 respectively.

Ms Chan, Dr Kwok, Dr Fernando Cheung, Mr Gary Fan and Mr Kenneth Leung will move eight separate motions under the Legislative Council (Powers and Privileges) Ordinance and Article 73(5) and (10) of the Basic Law, in relation to the Police's handling of protesters and persons performing duties in the protests during the "anti-extradition to China" movement. The motions are set out in Appendices 18-25 respectively.

Mr Chung Kwok-pan and Dr Priscilla Leung will also move two separate motions under the Legislative Council (Powers and Privileges) Ordinance, in relation to the causes and consequences of the social conflicts or disturbances arising from the amendments to the Fugitive Offenders Ordinance and related matters. The motions are set out in Appendices 26 and 27 respectively. Mr James To will move an amendment to Dr Leung's motion.

Meanwhile, Mr Kwok will move a motion on no confidence in the Fifth Term Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region as set out in Appendix 28. Ms Mo will move an amendment to Mr Kwok's motion.

Mr Ho Kai-ming will move a motion on ensuring children's right to play for them to grow up happily. The motion is set out in Appendix 29. Mr Ip Kin-yuen, Dr Kwok, Dr Cheung, Dr Chiang and Mr Hui Chi-fung will move separate amendments to Mr Ho's motion.

During the meeting, Members will also ask the Government 22 questions on various policy areas, six of which require oral replies.

The agenda of the above meeting can be obtained via the LegCo Website (www.legco.gov.hk). Please note that the agenda is subject to change, and the latest information about the agenda could be found on the LegCo Website.

Members of the public are welcome to observe the proceedings of the meeting from the public galleries of the Chamber of the LegCo Complex. They may reserve seats by calling 3919 3399 during office hours. Members of the public can also watch or listen to the meeting via the "Webcast" system on the LegCo Website.