<u>LegCo to consider Taxi-Driver-Offence</u> <u>Points Bill</u>

The following is issued on behalf of the Legislative Council Secretariat:

The Legislative Council (LegCo) will hold a meeting tomorrow (December 13) at 11am in the Chamber of the LegCo Complex. During the meeting, the Second Reading debates on the Road Traffic Legislation (Enhancing Personalized Point-to-point Transport Services) (Amendment) Bill 2023 and the Taxi-Driver-Offence Points Bill will resume. If the Bills are supported by Members and receive their Second Reading, they will stand committed to the committee of the whole Council. After the committee of the whole Council has completed consideration of the Bills and their reports are adopted by the Council, the Bills will be set down for the Third Reading.

Meanwhile, the Nurses Registration (Amendment) Bill 2023, the Electronic Traffic Enforcement (Miscellaneous Amendments) Bill 2023, the Extension of Government Leases Bill and the Building Management (Amendment) Bill 2023 will be introduced into the Council for the First Reading and the Second Reading. The Second Reading debates on the Bills will be adjourned.

On Members' motions, Mr Adrian Ho will move a motion on promoting healthy ageing to create a good quality of life for the silver-haired group. The motion is set out in Appendix 1. Dr Johnny Ng, Ms Elizabeth Quat and Professor Lau Chi-pang will move separate amendments to Mr Adrian Ho's motion.

Ms Chan Yuet-ming will move a motion on proactively responding to national development strategies by following up on the development of the Northern Metropolis. The motion is set out in Appendix 2. Dr Lo Wai-kwok, Mr Duncan Chiu, Professor William Wong, Mr Shang Hailong, Ms Carmen Kan, Mr Lau Kwok-fan, Mr Kenneth Lau, Professor Priscilla Leung, Mr Yim Kong, Mr Luk Chung-hung and Dr Hoey Simon Lee will move separate amendments to Ms Chan Yuet-ming's motion.

The Chairman of the Committee on Rules of Procedure, Mr Paul Tse, will present the "Committee on Rules of Procedure of the Legislative Council of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Progress Report for the period January to December 2023" and address the Council.

In addition, the Chairman of the Panel on Information Technology and Broadcasting, Dr Junius Ho; the Chairman of the Panel on Development, Mr Tony Tse; the Chairman of the Panel on Commerce, Industry, Innovation and Technology, Mr Jimmy Ng; the Chairman of the Panel on Constitutional Affairs, Mr Holden Chow; the Chairman of the Panel on Transport, Mr Chan Han-pan; the Chairman of the Panel on Economic Development, Mr Sunny Tan; the Chairman of the Panel on Manpower, Mr Luk Chung-hung; the Chairman of the Panel on Security, Mr Chan Hak-kan; and the Chairman of the Panel on Education, Professor Priscilla Leung, will present the Reports of the related Panels and address the Council respectively.

Members will also ask the Government 22 questions on various policy areas, six of which require oral replies.

The agenda of the above meeting can be obtained via the LegCo Website (<u>www.legco.gov.hk</u>). Members of the public can watch or listen to the meeting via the "Webcast" system on the LegCo Website. To observe the proceedings of the meeting at the LegCo Complex, members of the public may call 3919 3399 during office hours to reserve seats.