## <u>LegCo Subcommittee on Matters Relating</u> <u>to Railways visits construction site</u> <u>of MTR Kwu Tung Station on East Rail</u> <u>Line (with photos)</u>

The following is issued on behalf of the Legislative Council Secretariat:

The Legislative Council Subcommittee on Matters Relating to Railways visited the construction site of MTR Kwu Tung Station on the East Rail Line today (November 26) to learn about the latest progress of the project.

At the Kwu Tung Station project site, Members received a briefing from representatives of the MTR Corporation Limited (MTRCL) on the project's engineering features and the construction progress of the station concourse and other facilities. Members noted that Kwu Tung Station will be the first new station in Hong Kong to be built on top of an operating railway tunnel. It will be located between Lok Ma Chau and Sheung Shui stations of the East Rail Line, being a new public transport hub for the future Kwu Tung North New Development Area. The bulk excavation work at Kwu Tung Station was completed in September this year, using the "cut and cover" construction method to excavate and remove the soil covering the tunnel structure. A lateral support system was then installed to support the weight of soil on both sides, and groundwater control was being implemented to ensure the stability of the tunnel structure and maintain the daily operations of the East Rail Line.

Members then toured the construction site to understand how various smart devices and technologies such as the Common Data Environment were adopted for providing real-time updates on project planning and more effective monitoring of construction progress, aiming for completion of the entire project by 2027. During the visit, Members exchanged views with MTRCL and Government representatives on issues including the challenges of station construction, enhancing site safety, and ensuring the operations of the East Rail Line not to be affected.

Members who participated in the visit were the Chairman of the Subcommittee, Mr Gary Zhang, and Subcommittee member Mr Yang Wing-kit; as well as non-Subcommittee members Dr Junius Ho, Ms Yung Hoi-yan and Mr Lau Kwok-fan.



