LegCo Public Accounts Committee to hold public hearing tomorrow

The following is issued on behalf of the Legislative Council Secretariat:

The Legislative Council (LegCo) Public Accounts Committee (PAC) will hold two sessions of a public hearing on "Government's efforts in tackling shoreline refuse" (Chapter 2) of the Director of Audit's Report No.75 tomorrow (March 12) at 9am and noon in Conference Room 1 of the LegCo Complex respectively.

Six witnesses and eight witnesses have been invited respectively to appear before the above sessions of the hearing to respond to points raised in the Report and answer questions asked by PAC members.

The programme for the public hearing is as follows:

Subject: Government's efforts in tackling shoreline refuse (Chapter 2 of the

Director of Audit's Report No.75)

Date: March 12 (Friday) Venue: Conference Room 1

Session One Time: 9am

Witnesses:

Secretary for the Environment Mr Wong Kam-sing

Director of Environmental Protection Ms Maisie Cheng

Deputy Director of Environmental Protection(1)
Dr Samuel Chui

Assistant Director (Water Policy), Environmental Protection Department Mr Chen Che-kong

Director of Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Dr Leung Siu-fai

Acting Assistant Director (Country and Marine Parks), Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department Dr Jackie Yip

Session Two

Time: noon

Secretary for the Environment Mr Wong Kam-sing

Deputy Director of Environmental Protection(1)
Dr Samuel Chui

Assistant Director (Water Policy), Environmental Protection Department Mr Chen Che-kong

Acting Director of Food and Environmental Hygiene Miss Diane Wong

Acting Assistant Director (Operations)3, Food and Environmental Hygiene Department Mr Tse Yu-cheung

Senior Superintendent (Cleansing and Pest Control)1, Food and Environmental Hygiene Department Mr Tse Ki-cheong

Director of Leisure and Cultural Services Mr Vincent Liu

Assistant Director (Leisure Services)1, Leisure and Cultural Services Department Mr Horman Chan

PAC is chaired by Mr Abraham Shek, and its Deputy Chairman is Mr Paul Tse. Other members include Mr Steven Ho, Mr Shiu Ka-fai, Ms Yung Hoi-yan, Mr Lau Kwok-fan and Mr Tony Tse.