<u>LegCo Panel on Economic Development</u> <u>visits Ocean Park (with photos)</u>

The following is issued on behalf of the Legislative Council Secretariat:

The Legislative Council (LegCo) Panel on Economic Development conducted a visit to the Ocean Park today (February 20) to better understand the proposed way forward of the Park.

Accompanied by the Commissioner for Tourism, Mr Joe Wong, and the Chairman of the Ocean Park Corporation, Mr Lau Ming-wai, members visited the existing facilities of the lower park area and upper park area including Aqua City Lagoon and Ocean Park Tower. Members were briefed by the Administration on the proposed way forward of the Park as well as the financial arrangements. Members also visited the Water World, which will open this summer, to learn about its features.

Together with the Ocean Park Corporation, the Government has completed the rethink exercise for charting the way forward of the Park, which suggests that the Park should transform into a resort and leisure destination. A new mixed mode of operation by outsourcing part of the Park's area or facilities for development and operation is proposed so that the Park will become financially sustainable in the long run. A new ticketing regime will also be considered to introduce. To support the implementation of the strategy, the Government has proposed providing non-recurrent funding support for the Park's operations and time-limited subvention on conservation and education work of the Park, as well as restructuring of the Government loans.

Further to the meeting held by videoconferencing on January 25, the Panel on Economic Development will hold a meeting next Monday (February 22) to further discuss the proposed way forward of Ocean Park. The agenda and discussion papers for the meeting are available at the following webpage: www.legco.gov.hk/yr20-21/english/panels/edev/agenda/edev20210222.htm

Members participating in the visit were the Panel Chairman, Mr Christopher Cheung; Panel members Mr Yiu Si-wing, Dr Lo Wai-kwok, Mr Chung Kwok-pan and Mr Tony Tse; as well as non-Panel members Mr Michael Tien and Ms Yung Hoi-yan.





