<u>LegCo delegation to visit the United Kingdom</u>

The following is issued on behalf of the Legislative Council Secretariat:

The delegation of the Legislative Council (LegCo) departed for the United Kingdom (UK) today (September 9) to conduct a five-day parliamentary visit in London and Edinburgh from September 10 to 14 (London time).

The visit aims at establishing and reinforcing links with the UK and Scottish Parliaments as well as keeping their Members abreast of the latest developments in Hong Kong. The delegation will take this opportunity to understand how these legislatures deal with various procedural issues that arise frequently during meetings; to learn how the Scottish Parliament maintains relationship with its sovereign state while preserving autonomy under devolution; and to obtain first-hand information on issues relating to UK's exit from the European Union.

During its stay in London from September 10 to 12 (London time), the delegation will meet with parliamentarians of the UK Parliament, including the Deputy Speaker of the House of Commons and Chairman of Ways and Means, Sir Lindsay Hoyle MP, and the Deputy Speaker of the House of Lords, Lord Boswell of Aynho, to exchange views on issues of mutual concern. The delegation will also meet with the Parliamentary Commissioner for Standards, Ms Kathryn Stone. Meanwhile, the delegation will visit the Royal College of Art and the Hong Kong Economic and Trade Office in London.

On September 13 and 14 (London time), the delegation will visit Edinburgh to meet with representatives of the Scottish Government and the Scotland Office of the UK Government. The delegation members will also visit the Scottish Parliament and meet with the Culture, Tourism, Europe and External Relations Committee, as well as the Parliamentary Business Team of the Scottish Parliament.

The delegation is led by Mr Ip Kin-yuen. Other members of the delegation include the deputy leader Mr Kenneth Leung, Mr Charles Mok, Mr Chung Kwok-pan, Mr Alvin Yeung, Mr Andrew Wan, Dr Junius Ho, Mr Lam Cheuk-ting, Mr Luk Chung-hung and Mr Au Nok-hin.