## <u>Labour Advisory Board members</u> <u>appointed</u>

The Government today (December 9) announced the appointment of 12 members to the Labour Advisory Board (LAB) for a term of two years starting on January 1, 2023.

The appointed members include five employee representatives elected by registered employee unions, namely:

- \* Ms Tam Kam-lin
- \* Mr Lo Tai-chi
- \* Mr Lam Wai-kong
- \* Ms Julie Lai Mei-chu
- \* Ms Lai Na

and five employer representatives nominated by major employer associations, namely:

- \* Mr Ho Sai-chu (representing the Chinese General Chamber of Commerce)
- \* Dr Kim Mak Kin-wah (representing the Employers' Federation of Hong Kong)
- \* Mr Irons Sze (representing the Chinese Manufacturers' Association of Hong Kong)
- \* Mr Emil Yu Chen-on (representing the Hong Kong General Chamber of Commerce)
- \* Mr Ricky Chan Wai-chung (representing the Federation of Hong Kong Industries)

In addition, Dr Bankee Kwan Pak-hoo and Mr Wong Yin-hao have been appointed ad personam as an employer member and an employee member of the LAB respectively.

With the exception of Mr Lam Wai-kong, Ms Julie Lai Mei-chu, Ms Lai Na, Mr Ricky Chan Wai-chung and Mr Wong Yin-hao, all appointed members are incumbent members.

The Secretary for Labour and Welfare, Mr Chris Sun, and the Commissioner for Labour and Chairman of the LAB, Ms May Chan, welcomed the above appointments.

"The LAB has a long history and is well-respected. Over the years, through communication, negotiation and discussion, the LAB has been committed to reaching consensus on labour issues, helping the Government give due regard to and balance the views of employees and employers when formulating labour policies and legislative proposals. I hope that members of the new term will continue to contribute to the advancement of labour issues through tripartite dialogue," said Mr Sun.

"The LAB is a highly representative tripartite collaboration platform for representatives of employees and those of employers to candidly discuss

and exchange views on labour issues of mutual concern, such as legislation and Conventions and Recommendations of the International Labour Organisation. I earnestly look forward to concerted efforts with all members of the LAB in the new term to improve employees' rights and benefits and to foster harmonious labour relations," said Ms Chan.

Ms Chan also paid warm tribute to the five outgoing members, namely employee representatives Mr Charles Chan Yiu-kwong, Mr Tang Ka-piu, Mr Leung Chau-ting and Ms Shea Wai-man as well as employer representative Mr Jimmy Kwok Chun-wah, for their significant contributions to the LAB during their term of office.