Judicial appointments

The following is issued on behalf of the Judiciary:

The Judiciary today (July 18) announced the re-appointment of the Honourable Mr Justice Godfrey Lam Wan-ho as the President, Competition Tribunal and the Honourable Madam Justice Queeny Au-Yeung Kwai-yue as the Deputy President, Competition Tribunal, each for a term of three years with effect from August 1, 2019, upon expiry of their current terms.

The re-appointments are made by the Chief Executive on the recommendation of the Judicial Officers Recommendation Commission.

President, Competition Tribunal

The Honourable Mr Justice Lam was called to the Bar in Hong Kong in 1993 and was appointed as Senior Counsel in 2008. He was in private practice between 1994 and 2013. He sat as a Deputy Judge of the Court of First Instance of the High Court for a period in 2011 and was appointed as Judge of the Court of First Instance of the High Court in January 2013. He has been appointed as the President, Competition Tribunal since August 1, 2013.

Deputy President, Competition Tribunal

The Honourable Madam Justice Au-Yeung was called to the Bar in Hong Kong in 1985 and was in private practice from 1986 until she joined the Judiciary as Magistrate in 1995. She was appointed as Registrar of the District Court in 2001, District Judge in 2003, Registrar of the High Court in 2007 and Judge of the Court of First Instance of the High Court in August 2012. She has been appointed as Deputy President, Competition Tribunal since August 1, 2013.

The Competition Ordinance (Cap. 619) was passed on June 14, 2012. The Ordinance provides that every Judge of the Court of First Instance of the High Court will, by virtue of his or her appointment as Judge of the Court of First Instance of the High Court, be a member of the Competition Tribunal. The Ordinance also provides that the Chief Executive shall, on the recommendation of the Judicial Officers Recommendation Commission, appoint two of the members of the Tribunal to be the President and Deputy President of the Tribunal for a term of at least three years, but not more than five years. The President and Deputy President of the Tribunal are eligible for re-appointment.