Judicial appointment

The following is issued on behalf of the Judiciary:

The Judiciary today (August 1) announced the reappointment of the Honourable Mr Justice Jonathan Russell Harris as the President, Competition Tribunal, for a term of three years with effect from August 16, 2024, upon expiry of his current term.

The reappointment is made by the Chief Executive on the recommendation of the Judicial Officers Recommendation Commission.

President, Competition Tribunal

Mr Justice Harris was born in 1957 in the United Kingdom and has lived in Hong Kong since 1983. He obtained an LL.B. from University College London in the United Kingdom in 1980. He was admitted as a solicitor in England and Wales and in Hong Kong in 1983 and 1984 respectively. He was admitted as a barrister and solicitor in Australia in 1990 and was a partner in an international law firm before being called to the Bar in Hong Kong in 1993. He was appointed as Senior Counsel in 2006 specialising in company and securities matters. In December 2009 he was appointed as a Judge of the Court of First Instance of the High Court. Since 2010 he has been responsible for the portfolio of company and corporate insolvency cases in the High Court. He has been appointed as the President, Competition Tribunal, since August 16, 2021.

The Competition Ordinance (Cap. 619) (the Ordinance) was passed on June 14, 2012. The Ordinance provides that every Judge of the Court of First Instance of the High Court will, by virtue of his or her appointment as Judge of the Court of First Instance of the High Court, be a member of the Competition Tribunal (the Tribunal). The Ordinance also provides that the Chief Executive shall, on the recommendation of the Judicial Officers Recommendation Commission, appoint two of the members of the Tribunal to be the President and Deputy President of the Tribunal for a term of at least three years, but not more than five years. The President and Deputy President of the Tribunal are eligible for reappointment.