Inter-departmental Task Force on Kai Tak Sports Park convenes first meeting (with photo)

The inter-departmental Task Force on Kai Tak Sports Park (KTSP) chaired by the Chief Secretary for Administration, Mr Chan Kwok-ki, convened the first meeting today (June 14) to co-ordinate the relevant bureaux and departments in implementing the preparatory work for the completion and commissioning of the KTSP.

At the meeting, the Task Force discussed in detail three areas, namely ensuring the timely completion of the construction of the KSTP; maximising the economic benefits of the KTSP; and providing the necessary ancillary support, such as crowd management and traffic arrangements. Its aim is to ensure that the KTSP, upon its completion and commissioning, will create a diverse, quality experience for citizens and visitors.

Mr Chan said, "The KTSP is the largest sports infrastructure project in Hong Kong's history. It will provide modern and multi-purpose sports and recreation facilities, which are of great significance to the development of not only sports, but also Hong Kong's mega-event economy. I will lead the Task Force to work in collaboration with all stakeholders in these three areas to ensure the successful completion and commissioning of the KTSP, thereby consolidating and enhancing Hong Kong's strategic positioning as an events capital."

The construction of the KTSP commenced in February 2019. Currently, the main structure of the Public Sports Ground, the Indoor Sports Centre and the Main Stadium have been largely completed. According to the current construction progress, it is expected that the major facilities of the KTSP will be completed by the end of 2024. Upon the successful implementation of test events and satisfactory completion of various testing procedures, the KTSP will be open in the first half of 2025.

The membership list of the inter-departmental Task Force on KTSP is as follows:

Chairman

Chief Secretary for Administration

Members

Deputy Financial Secretary Secretary for Culture, Sports and Tourism Secretary for Development Secretary for Environment and Ecology Secretary for Security Secretary for Transport and Logistics Permanent Secretary for Culture, Sports and Tourism Permanent Secretary for Housing/Director of Housing Commissioner for Sports

Heads or representatives of relevant departments/office:
Buildings Department
Environmental Protection Department
Food and Environmental Hygiene Department
Highways Department
Home Affairs Department
Hong Kong Fire Services Department
Hong Kong Police Force
Information Services Department
Leisure and Cultural Services Department
Marine Department
National Games Coordination Office (Hong Kong)
Tourism Commission
Transport Department

