## HKSAR Government announces disqualification of legislators concerned in accordance with NPCSC's decision on qualification of HKSAR legislators

The Standing Committee of the National People's Congress (NPCSC) today (November 11) made the following decision on the qualification of members of the Legislative Council (LegCo) of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) (the Decision) $\ddot{1}_4$  $\ddot{8}$ 

- (1) A member of the LegCo of the HKSAR does not fulfill the legal requirements and conditions on upholding the Basic Law of the HKSAR of the People's Republic of China and pledging allegiance to the HKSAR of the People's Republic of China if the member advocates or supports "Hong Kong independence", refuses to recognise the People's Republic of China's sovereignty over Hong Kong and the exercise of the sovereignty, solicits intervention by foreign or external forces in the HKSAR's affairs, or carries out other activities endangering national security. When the member is so decided in accordance with law, he or she is immediately disqualified from being a LegCo member.
- (2) The Decision is applicable to the members of the sixth-term LegCo whose nominations were decided to be invalid in accordance with law by the HKSAR due to the circumstances mentioned above during the nomination period of the election for the seventh-term LegCo of the HKSAR originally scheduled for September 6, 2020.

The Decision is applicable to any person standing for election in respect of or taking up the office of LegCo members in future where the circumstances mentioned above apply.

(3) The disqualification of LegCo members pursuant to the above provisions is to be announced by the HKSAR Government.

According to the Decision of the NPCSC, the HKSAR Government now announces that the following four members of the sixth-term LegCo, whose nominations were decided to be invalid in accordance with law by the HKSAR due to the circumstances mentioned in paragraph (1) above during the nomination period of the election for the seventh-term LegCo originally scheduled for September 6, 2020, were immediately disqualified from being LegCo members:

- (1) Alvin Yeung
- (2) Dennis Kwok Wing-hang

## (3) Kwok Ka-ki

## (4) Kenneth Leung

The HKSAR Government will publish the Decision in the Gazette in due course.