Green Party reaches agreement on uniting Remain vote to avoid disastrous Brexit



7 November 2019

The Green Party has come to an arrangement with Plaid Cymru and the Liberal Democrats to field one candidate from a Remain party in selected seats in England and Wales for the upcoming election.

Liberal Democrat or Play Cymru candidates will step aside for the Greens in 10 seats.

Co-Leader of the Green Party Jonathan Bartley said: "This is about recognising how damaging Brexit would be — for people and for the environment — and ensuring there is as much representation of Remain parties in the next Parliament as possible.

"Our country is at a crossroads and this election must be the point at which we start to move in a better direction. Everyone knows the Greens are the least tribal of any party and we are always willing to work with others for what's in the best interests of the country."

Agreements have been reached through discussion with local parties.

Sian Berry, Green Party Co-Leader said: "The crash-out Brexit the Tories are pushing for would be a disaster for people up and down England and Wales — and for action on climate chaos.

"Yes, as political parties we have differences, but what we've agreed is that on the climate, on stopping Brexit, saving local services and fixing the voting system, we must work together now so we can work together in the new parliament to make these things happen."

The Green Party supports a People's Vote to decide the future of Britain in the EU and will campaign to Remain.

60 seats are involved in the arrangement overall.

The Green Party will field candidates in Bright Pavilion, Isle of Wight,

Bristol West, Bury St Edmunds, Stroud, Dulwich and West Norwood, Exeter, Forest of Dean, Cannock Chase

A full list of the seats involved in the UTR arrangements can be found below

GREEN PARTY WALES SEAT:

Vale of Glamorgan

GREEN PARTY ENGLAND SEATS:

Brighton Pavilion (Held)

Isle of Wight

Bury St Edmunds

Bristol West

Stroud

Dulwich & West Norwood

Cannock Chase

Exeter

Forest of Dean

PLAID CYMRU SEATS:

Arfon (Held)

Dwyfor Meirionnydd (Held)

Carmarthen East and Dinefwr (Held)

Ynys Mon

Pontypridd

Caerphilly

Llanelli

LIB DEM WALES SEATS:

Brecon & Radnorshire (Held)

Cardiff Central

Montgomeryshire

LIB DEM ENGLAND SEATS:

Bath (Held) North Norfolk (Held) Oxford West & Abingdon (Held) South Cambridgeshire (Held) Totnes (Held) Twickenham (Held) Westmorland & Lonsdale (Held) Bermondsey & Old Southwark Buckingham Cheadle Chelmsford Chelsea & Fulham Cheltenham Chippenham Esher & Walton Finchley & Golders Green Guildford Harrogate Hazel Grove Hitchin & Harpenden North Cornwall Penistone & Stocksbridge Portsmouth South Richmond Park Romsey & Southampton North Rushcliffe South East Cambridgeshire South West Surrey

Taunton Deane
Thornbury & Yate
Tunbridge Wells
Wantage
Warrington South
Watford
Wells
Wimbledon
Winchester
Witney
York Outer
Tweet
Back to main news page
Let's block ads! (Why?)

Southport