Government tightens boarding and quarantine requirements for places with Omicron cases detected

The Government announced today (December 7) that in view of the latest global developments of the COVID-19 pandemic situation, Argentina, Croatia, Fiji and Latvia will be specified as Group A specified places from 0.00am on December 10 to tighten the boarding and quarantine requirements for relevant inbound travellers.

The Government announced earlier that as a preventive measure, the Government would specify places which have detected Omicron cases as Group A specified places. Noting that the detection of Omicron cases was confirmed in Argentina, Croatia, Fiji and Latvia, the Government will specify them as Group A specified places from 0.00am on December 10. Non-Hong Kong residents who have stayed there within 21 days will not be allowed to enter Hong Kong. Hong Kong residents can only board a flight for Hong Kong if they have been fully vaccinated and hold a recognised vaccination record. They will have to undergo compulsory quarantine in a designated quarantine hotel for 21 days upon returning to Hong Kong, with six tests to be conducted during quarantine, followed by compulsory testing in a community testing centre on the 26th day of arrival at Hong Kong.

Details on the relevant boarding and compulsory quarantine requirements for respective specified places can be found at www.coronavirus.gov.hk/eng/inbound-travel.html.

The Government will gazette the relevant updated specifications under the Prevention and Control of Disease (Regulation of Cross-boundary Conveyances and Travellers) Regulation (Cap. 599H) to effect the above measures.