Government tightens boarding and quarantine requirements for places with Omicron cases detected

The Government announced today (January 1) that in view of the latest global developments of the COVID-19 pandemic situation, Barbados, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Guinea, St Kitts and Nevis, St Vincent and the Grenadines, and Uruguay will be specified as Group A specified places from 0.00am on January 4, to tighten the boarding and quarantine requirements for relevant inbound travellers.

To manage and prevent the importation risks posed by Omicron cases, the Government will continue to employ the most stringent measures to guard against importation of cases. Overseas places where Omicron cases have been detected that may lead to local transmission and exportation of cases will be specified as Group A specified places. Noting that the detection of Omicron cases was confirmed in Barbados, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Guinea, St Kitts and Nevis, St Vincent and the Grenadines, and Uruguay, the Government will specify them as Group A specified places from 0.00am on January 4. Non-Hong Kong residents who have stayed there within 21 days will not be allowed to enter Hong Kong. Hong Kong residents can only board a flight for Hong Kong if they have been fully vaccinated and hold a recognised vaccination record. They will have to undergo compulsory quarantine in a designated quarantine hotel for 21 days upon returning to Hong Kong, with six tests to be conducted during quarantine, followed by compulsory testing in a community testing centre on the 26th day of arrival in Hong Kong.

Details on the relevant boarding and compulsory quarantine requirements for respective specified places can be found at www.coronavirus.gov.hk/eng/inbound-travel.html.

The Government will gazette the relevant updated specifications under the Prevention and Control of Disease (Regulation of Cross-boundary Conveyances and Travellers) Regulation (Cap. 599H) to effect the above measures.