Government sets up Advisory Committee for Regulatory Standards for Private Healthcare Facilities under Private Healthcare Facilities Ordinance

The Government announced today (August 31) the establishment of the Advisory Committee for Regulatory Standards for Private Healthcare Facilities (Advisory Committee) in accordance with the Private Healthcare Facilities Ordinance with effect from September 1, 2020, for a term of three years.

The Advisory Committee is tasked to advise the Director of Health on matters relating to the regulation of private healthcare facilities, including devising and reviewing regulatory standards of private healthcare facilities as set out in the Codes of Practice, advising on matters relating to licensing, regulation and compliance with the standards as well as making recommendations to enhance safety and quality standards of private healthcare facilities through regulation.

The Advisory Committee will be chaired by Professor Raymond Liang Hinsuen, and comprises members from the Hong Kong Academy of Medicine and its constituent colleges, the Hospital Authority, and representatives from academia, private hospitals as well as registered medical practitioners' and dentists' associations.

The membership of the Advisory Committee is as follows:

Chairperson

Professor Raymond Liang Hin-suen

Members (in alphabetical order of surnames)

Dr Chan Kui-fat

Dr Chan Wai-lam

Dr David Chao Vai-kiong

Dr Cheng Pak-man

Dr Chow Yu-fat

Professor Edward Lai Cheuck-seen

Dr May Lam Mei-ling

Dr Law Chun-key

Dr Lee Koon-hung

Professor Gilberto Leung Ka-kit

Dr Leung Tse-ngong

Dr Vincent Leung Tze-ching

Professor Philip Li Kam-tao

Dr Wong Yiu-kai

Dr John Woo Kong-sang

Dr Clara Wu Wing-yee

Co-opted Members

Professor Chair Sek-ying

Dr Gabriel Choi Kin

Dr William Ho Shiu-wei

Dr Samuel Kwok Po-yin

Dr Lau Ka-hin

Dr Raymond Lo See-kit

Professor Joseph Lui Cho-ze

Professor Enders Ng Kwok-wai

Dr Century Tsang Hin-kei

Dr Sky Wong Tin-hau

Professor Cynthia Yiu Kar-yung