<u>Government extends term of Commission</u> on Children

The Government announced today (May 5) the extension of the term of the Commission on Children for seven months from June 1, 2022, to December 31, 2022.

The Commission on Children was established on June 1, 2018, and its major functions are to develop policies, set strategies and priorities related to the development and advancement of children, and oversee the implementation of relevant policies and services, as well as promote children's rights and fund public educational projects.

A spokesman for the Labour and Welfare Bureau said that an extension of the term of the Commission on Children for seven months would allow sufficient time for the new-term Government to consider the future mode of operation and membership composition of the Commission. In the past four years, the Commission and its four Working Groups have fully collaborated with the current-term Government on the pro-child principle and policy objective. The Government expressed gratitude to members for their efforts and fully acknowledged their accomplishments.

The membership list of the Commission with effect from June 1, 2022, is as follows:

Chairperson

Chief Secretary for Administration

Vice-chairperson

Secretary for Labour and Welfare

Non-official Members

Mr Peter Au Yeung Wai-hong

Miss Bakar Fariha Salma Deiya

Miss Kelly Cheng Hui-kiu

Ms Janus Cheng

Mr Chow Wai-chung

Ms Kathy Chung Lai-kam

Mr Dennis Ho Chi-kuen

Dr Patrick Ip

Dr Sanly Kam Shau-wan

Mrs Priscilla Lui Tsang Sun-kai

Ms Shalini Mahtani

Mr Kenny Ng Kwan-lim

Ms Michelle Tam Chi-yun

Dr Sandra Tsang Kit-man Mr Gary Wong Chi-him Dr Lilian Wong Hiu-lei Ms Kathy Wong Kin-ho Dr Wong Kwai-yau

Ex-officio Members

Secretary for Education
Secretary for Food and Health
Secretary for Home Affairs
Secretary for Constitutional and Mainland Affairs
Director of Social Welfare
Director of Health
Director of Home Affairs
Chairperson of Family Council
Chairperson of Women's Commission