Government appoints members to Hospital Authority

The Government announced today (October 25) the appointment of two new members to the Hospital Authority (HA) and the reappointment of six serving members.

The two new members, Ms Tennessy Hui Mei-sheung and Professor Janet Wong Yuen-ha, will be appointed for a period of two years from December 1, 2024, to November 30, 2026.

Ms Hui is a practising solicitor in Hong Kong. She is the Chairperson of the Liquor Licensing Board, a member of the Council of Hong Kong University of Science and Technology and a member of the Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority Council.

Professor Wong is the Dean and Professor of the School of Nursing and Health Sciences of the Hong Kong Metropolitan University. She is also a member of the Hospital Governing Committee of North Lantau Hospital and a member of the Education Committee of the Nursing Council of Hong Kong.

Among the serving members reappointed, Professor David Shum Ho-keung continues to serve as an HA member in his capacity of the Dean of the Faculty of Health and Social Sciences of the Hong Kong Polytechnic University for a period of two years from November 1, 2024, to October 31, 2026. The other five serving members, namely Ms Anita Fung Yuen-mei, Mrs Sylvia Lam Yu kawai, Mr Henry Tong Sau-chai, Mr Anthony Tsang Hin-fun and Dr Thomas Tsang Hofai, will be reappointed for a period of two years from December 1, 2024, to November 30, 2026.

The Secretary for Health, Professor Lo Chung-mau, welcomed the two new members to the HA. He also expressed gratitude to the six serving members reappointed and extended heartfelt thanks to the outgoing members, Mr Ambrose Ho and Professor Agnes Tiwari Fung-yee, for their invaluable contribution to the HA.

The HA comprises a Chairman, 23 non-official members, three public officers and one principal officer from the HA. The membership list to be effective from December 1, 2024, is as follows:

Chairman:

Mr Henry Fan Hung-ling

Non-official Members: Mr Lawrence Chan Man-yiu Professor Chan Wai-yee Mr Chan Wing-kai Ms Margaret Cheng Wai-ching Mr Duncan Chiu Professor Philip Chiu Wai-yan Ms Anita Fung Yuen-mei Ms Maisy Ho Chiu-ha

Ms Mary Huen Wai-yi

Mr Jat Sew-tong

Mr Matthew Kwok Pui-ho

Mrs Sylvia Lam Yu ka-wai

Professor Lau Chak-sing

Ms Tennessy Hui Mei-sheung

Professor David Shum Ho-keung

Mr Henry Tong Sau-chai

Mr Philip Tsai Wing-chung

Mr Anthony Tsang Hin-fun

Dr Thomas Tsang Ho-fai

Mr Wan Man-yee

Mr Billy Wong Wing-hoo

Professor Janet Wong Yuen-ha

Professor Zhang Zhang-jin

Public Officers:

Permanent Secretary for Health, Mr Thomas Chan Director of Health, Dr Ronald Lam Deputy Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury (Treasury) Ms Ann Chan

HA Principal Officer:

Chief Executive of the HA, Dr Tony Ko