Government appoints member of Chinese Medicines Industry Subcommittee under Chinese Medicine Development Committee

â€<The Government today (August 13) announced the appointment of Miss Suen Wai-lam as a member of the Chinese Medicines Industry Subcommittee (CMISC) under the Chinese Medicine Development Committee (CMDC). The appointment is effective from today until the end of the current tenure, i.e. January 31, 2023.

The CMDC provides recommendations to the Government concerning the direction and long-term strategy of the future development of Chinese medicine in Hong Kong, focusing on the study of four key areas, namely the development of Chinese medicine services, personnel training and professional development, scientific research and development, and development of the Chinese medicines industry (including Chinese medicines testing). The Chinese Medicine Practice Subcommittee and the CMISC have been set up under the CMDC to focus deliberation on respective areas.

The Secretary for Food and Health, Professor Sophia Chan, thanked the outgoing member, Dr Priscilla Choy Wai-fun, for her contributions to the CMISC. Professor Chan said she believed that Miss Suen's experience and wise counsel would provide valuable insights and advice to the development of Chinese medicine in Hong Kong and the work of the CMISC.

The membership of the CMISC, with effect from August 13, 2021, is as follows:

Chairman

Mr Tommy Li Ying-sang

Non-official Members

Dr Dawn Au Ching-tung

Ms Michelle Au Yeung Fung-ying

Dr Chan Kei-wai

Mr Cheung Chun-hoi

Mr Kwok Tsz-ming

Mr Dominic Lam Chun-hong

Mr Lam Wing-ho

Ms Li Handong

Ms Winnie Ng Wing-mui

Professor Shen Jiangang

Miss Suen Wai-lam

Mr Tam Kwok-leung

Mr Wong Ka-on

Mr Nicholas Wong Lup-hoi

Ms Wong Sau-wan

Mr Edward William Yau Fook-wing

Mr Harry Yeung Kwok-chun

Mr Mason Yip Yue-keung

Dr Zhang Qingling

Ex-officio Members

Representative(s) from the Food and Health Bureau

Representative(s) from the Department of Health

Representative(s) from the Innovation and Technology Commission