Government appoints HKEX Risk Management Committee members

The Financial Secretary has reappointed Ms Miranda Kwok Pui-fong and Mr Sun Yu as members of the Risk Management Committee (RMC) of the Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited (HKEX).

The reappointments, made under section 65 of the Securities and Futures Ordinance, will take effect from July 1, 2023, for a term of two years.

"Ms Kwok and Mr Sun are experienced professionals in the financial services sector. We believe that they will continue to provide invaluable advice to the RMC and contribute to formulating appropriate risk management policies for the HKEX," a Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau spokesman said today (June 23).

The RMC was established in March 2000 with the role of formulating policies on risk management matters relating to the activities of the HKEX and its subsidiaries for submission to the Board of the HKEX for consideration.

The RMC is chaired by the Chairman of the HKEX, Mrs Laura Cha May-lung. Other serving members are Mrs Susan Chow Woo Mo-fong, Mr Hugo Leung Pak-hon, the Executive Director (Supervision of Markets) of the Securities and Futures Commission, the Executive Director (Monetary Management) of the Hong Kong Monetary Authority, and the Chairman of the Hong Kong Interbank Clearing Limited.