## <u>Government appoints directors to HKEX</u> <u>Board</u>

The Government has re-appointed Mrs Laura Cha May-lung, Mr Benjamin Hung Pi-cheng and Mrs Susan Chow Woo Mo-fong as members of the Board of Directors of the Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited (HKEX) for a term of around two years from the conclusion of the Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the HKEX in 2022 until the conclusion of its AGM in 2024.

Announcing the appointments today (February 18), the Financial Secretary, Mr Paul Chan, said, "The appointments to the Board of Directors of the HKEX represent an important safeguard of the interest of the public. Mrs Cha, Mr Hung and Mrs Chow are well respected and experienced professionals in the financial services and business sector. They also have immense experience in public services."

The Board of Directors of the HKEX comprises a maximum of six directors appointed by the Financial Secretary, a maximum of six directors elected by shareholders, and the Chief Executive of the HKEX.

The other incumbent directors appointed by the Financial Secretary are Mr Rafael Gil-Tienda, Mr Stephen Yiu Kin-wah and Ms Nisa Leung Wing-yu.

"We trust that all the directors will work closely together to further enhance Hong Kong's competitiveness as a premier global listing platform and reinforce our status as an international financial centre, with the unique positioning and support provided by our country in the National 14th Five-Year Plan," Mr Chan said.

The above appointments are made under the Securities and Futures Ordinance. The Ordinance, together with the HKEX's Articles of Association, empowers the Financial Secretary to appoint not more than six persons to be members of the Board of Directors of the HKEX where the Financial Secretary is satisfied that it is appropriate to do so in the interest of the investing public or in the public interest.