Government appoints Chairmen and members to Councils of HKBU, CityU and PolyU

The Government today (December 6) announced that the Chief Executive appointed Dr Kennedy Wong Ying-ho as the Chairman of the Council of Hong Kong Baptist University (HKBU), and Mr Michael Ngai Ming-tak as the Chairman of the Council of City University of Hong Kong (CityU), and reappointed Dr Lam Tai-fai as the Chairman of the Council of the Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU), all with effect from January 1, 2025, for a term of three years.

The Chief Executive also appointed members to the Councils of the above three universities (the terms all beginning on January 1, 2025, for three years): HKBU — appointed Mr Lo Wing-hung, Dr Louis Ng Chi-wa and Ms Malina Ngai Man-lin, and reappointed Mr Abraham Chan Yu-ling and Dr Wong Yu-yeuk; CityU — appointed Mr Eugene Fong Yick-jin and Ms Grace Yu Ho-wun, and reappointed Ms Miranda Kwok Pui-fong, Mr Robert Andrew Lui Chi-wang and Mr Justin Wong Tak-ho; PolyU — appointed incumbent Council member Dr Daniel Yip Chung-yin as the Deputy Chairman of the Council, and Mr Arthur Lee Kin as the Treasurer of the University.

The Chief Executive said, "With highly international and diverse post-secondary education, and outstanding science and research talent, Hong Kong is an international hub for high-□calibre talent for exchanges and collaboration. HKBU, CityU and PolyU are important assets of Hong Kong, providing constant impetus for Hong Kong's development into an international post-secondary education hub, and commanding high expectations from the Government and the public. The new appointees are all prominent leaders in society. They have been dedicated to serving the community in different fields over the years. They possess outstanding capabilities and rich experience, and have made remarkable contributions to Hong Kong's education sector. With their wealth of experience in public service and knowledge about Hong Kong's education sector, I believe that they will steer the three universities towards greater achievements on various fronts in the coming few years, supporting Hong Kong's development into an international post-secondary education hub."

The Chief Executive has expressed his gratitude to the outgoing HKBU Council Chairman, Dr Clement Chen Cheng-jen, and members Mr Chui Wing-On, Ms So Ching and Ms Connie Wong Wai-ching; CityU Council Chairman, Mr Lester Garson Huang, and member Dr Eugene Chan Kin-keung; and PolyU Council Deputy Chairman, Dr Lawrence Li Kwok-chang, and Treasurer of the University, Ms Loretta Fong Wan-huen, for their work and efforts during their terms.