<u>Government appoints Advisory Committee</u> <u>on Chinese Medicine Development Fund</u> <u>member</u>

The Government today (August 13) announced the appointment of Miss Suen Wai-lam as a member of the Advisory Committee on Chinese Medicine Development Fund. The appointment is effective from today until the end of the current tenure, i.e. February 28, 2023.

Since the establishment of the Chinese Medicine Development Fund (CMDF) in 2019, various funding schemes have been launched in phases to support training, improvement of clinic facilities, enhancement of proprietary Chinese medicine (pCm) manufacturing quality and management systems, pCm registration, promotion of Chinese medicine, applied studies and research. The Committee has provided professional and valuable advice on matters relating to the scope, implementation, promotion and vetting of applications of these funding schemes.

The Secretary for Food and Health, Professor Sophia Chan, thanked the outgoing member, Dr Priscilla Choy Wai-fun, for her contributions to the Committee. Professor Chan said she believed that Miss Suen's experience and wise counsel would benefit the Committee in advising the Government on matters relating to the overall administration of the CMDF.

The membership of the Committee, with effect from August 13, 2021, is as follows:

Chairman

Mr Douglas So Cheung-tak

Non-official Members

Professor Bian Zhaoxiang Dr Chan Kei-wai Mr Chan Wing-suen Professor Feng Yibin Ms Lam Pui-yan Ms Serena Lau Sze-wan Mr Henry Lee Kai-ping Dr Liong Ching Mr Gerry Ma Kwai-yung Dr Or Ka-hang Miss Suen Wai-lam Ms Wang Huimin Mr Wong Ka-on Professor Justin Wu Che-yuen Ex-officio Members

Representative(s) from the Food and Health Bureau Representative(s) from the Department of Health Representative(s) from the Hospital Authority Representative(s) from the Innovation and Technology Commission