# Government announces membership of new-term Hong Kong Film Development Council

The Government today (March 26) announced that the Chief Executive has appointed the new-term Hong Kong Film Development Council (HKFDC) for two-years from April 1, 2021 to March 31, 2023.

Membership of the new-term HKFDC is as follows:

```
Dr Wilfred Wong Ying-wai (Chairperson)
Ms Mabel Cheung Yuen-ting (Vice-chairperson) #
Mr Angus Chan Lo-chiu #
Ms Sylvia Chang Ai-chia
Mr Kwok Kar-ming #
Mr Gordon Lam Ka-tung
Mr Stephen Lam Ping-kwan
Ms Debbie Lam Suk-yin #
Mr Lau Ho-leung #
Mr Ken Lau Kin-lok #
Mr Anthony Lee Ying-lok
Mr Mathew Tang Hon-keung
Mr Ivan Wong Chi-fai
Mr Wong Chun
Mr Terence Wong Pui-tat #
Ms Bonnie Wong Tak-wei
Mr Victor Wong Wang-tat #
Ms Cora Yim Ka-nim
Permanent Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development (Communications and
Creative Industries (Vice-chairperson) (ex-officio member)
Executive Director of Hong Kong Trade Development Council or her
representative (ex-officio member)
```

# # New appointee

The Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Edward Yau, welcomed the appointments, "The HKFDC has been instrumental in promoting the development of Hong Kong's film industry. With members' rich experiences, outstanding achievements and representativeness in various fields of the industry, I am confident that the new-term HKFDC will continue to provide expert advice and make continuous efforts to further promote the long-term development of the industry," he said.

Mr Yau welcomed the new Vice-chairperson, Ms Mabel Cheung Yuen-ting, and five new appointees from various fields of the film industry as well as the two young members appointed through the Member Self-recommendation Scheme for Youth (Phase III) launched by the Government. He also expressed gratitude to the outgoing Vice-chairperson, Mr Felix Chong Man-keung, and outgoing

members, Ms Amy Chin Siu-wai, Mr Percy Fung Tze-cheong, Ms Belinda Tang Siu-wai, Mr Patrick Tong Hing-chi and Mr Adam Wong Sau-ping, for their valuable contributions to the HKFDC.

The profiles of the new appointees are as follows:

### Ms Mabel Cheung Yuen-ting

Ms Mabel Cheung is a renowned local film director, producer and screenwriter with numerous award-winning films including "Echoes of the Rainbow", "Painted Faces" and "An Autumn's Tale". She is the incumbent Chairperson of the Hong Kong Film Directors' Guild as well as the Vice-Chairperson of the Hong Kong International Film Festival Society.

## Mr Angus Chan Lo-chiu

Mr Angus Chan is the director and founder of Entertaining Power Company Limited, a local entertainment business company, which has developed many film and TV contents via production, distribution, copyright licensing and promotion both regionally and internationally.

### Mr Kwok Kar-ming

Mr Kwok Kar-ming is appointed through the Member Self-recommendation Scheme for Youth (Phase III). He is an analyst at the Moody's Investors Service, Inc., and holds qualifications as Chartered Financial Analyst and Certificated Public Accountant.

### Ms Debbie Lam Suk-yin

Ms Debbie Lam is the President of the Executive Committee of the Hong Kong Movie Production Executives Association and Assistant Vice-president (Drama Production) of ViuTV.

### Mr Lau Ho-leung

Mr Lau Ho-leung is a noted screenplay writer and a budding film director who has produced many film productions, including "Painted Skin", "Kung Fu Jungle" and "Two Thumbs Up". He is the Chairman of the Hong Kong Screenwriters' Guild.

### Mr Ken Lau Kin-lok

Mr Ken Lau is appointed through the Member Self-recommendation Scheme for Youth (Phase III). He comes from legal profession, and is currently the Strategic Relation Manager of the International Intellectual Property Commercialization Council.

### Mr Terence Wong Pui-tat

Mr Terence Wong is the Head of Department of Digital Media of the Hong Kong Design Institute. His fields of expertise include film and TV production, 3D computer animation, digital visual effects production, interactive media and transmedia.

Mr Victor Wong Wang-tat

Mr Victor Wong is the founder of the vfxNova digital productions Limited. He is also a renowned visual effects supervisor who has created visual effects for many award-winning films including "Initial D", "CJ7" and "The Bravest".

The HKFDC was set up in 2007 to advise the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development on policies and measures relating to development of the film industry, including nurturing talent, enhancing local film production, expanding markets and building audience.