<u>Government announces appointments to</u> Research Council

The Government today (September 28) announced the appointment of 15 non-official members to the Research Council for a term of two years, with effect from October 1, 2021.

The non-official members comprise three new members and 12 re-appointed members. The new members are Professor Linda Lam Chiu-wa, Professor Vivian Lin Kwang-wen and Professor Samuel Wong Yeung-shan.

The Secretary for Food and Health (SFH), Professor Sophia Chan, expressed gratitude to the outgoing members, namely Professor Keiji Fukuda, Professor Martin Wong Chi-sang, Professor Yeoh Eng-kiong and Dr Yu Wai-cho, for their dedication and invaluable contribution to the Council.

The Council, chaired by the SFH, is responsible for providing strategic guidance for funding health and medical research, and overseeing the administration of the Health and Medical Research Fund including the allocation of funds for approved research and health promotion projects.

The membership list of the Council with effect from October 1, 2021, is as follows:

Chairperson:

Secretary for Food and Health/Permanent Secretary for Food and Health (Health)

Members:

Professor Juliana Chan Chung-ngor

Dr Vincent Cheng Chi-chung

Professor Timothy Kwok Chi-yui

Professor Lau Chak-sing

Professor Linda Lam Chiu-wa

Professor Leung Suet-yi

Professor Lin Chia-chin

Professor Vivian Lin Kwang-wen

Professor Lyu Aiping

Professor David Man Wai-kwong

Professor Tony Mok Shu-kam

Professor Hextan Ngan Yuen-sheung

Professor David Shum Ho-keung

Professor Samuel Wong Yeung-shan

Professor Yip Shea-ping

Secretary for Innovation and Technology or representative

Director of Health or representative

Chief Executive of the Hospital Authority or representative

Dean of the Faculty of Medicine of the Chinese University of Hong Kong or

representative Dean of the Li Ka Shing Faculty of Medicine of the University of Hong Kong or representative Head of the Research Office, Food and Health Bureau (Secretary)