## Government announces appointments to Energy Advisory Committee

The Government today (July 15) announced that Professor Simon Wong Kitlung and Dr Conrad Wong Tin-cheung have been appointed as the Chairman and the Deputy Chairman of the Energy Advisory Committee, as well as 17 community figures appointed as members. The appointments are for a term of two years, effective as of today.

The Secretary for Environment and Ecology, Mr Tse Chin-wan, expressed his gratitude to members of the previous term, particularly the retiring Chairman, Mr Jimmy Kwok Chun-wah, and 11 members, Professor Andrew Chan Chifai , Ms Natalie Chan, Dr Vincent Cheng Sai-yau, Mr Cheung Chi-wah, Professor Fung Tung, Ms Linda Ho Wai-ping, Ms Hilda Lam Hiu-nga, Mr Ellis Lau Yingtung, Ms Ivy Lee Siu-wing, Ms Christina Tang Pik-han, and Mr Ryan Yeung Shuncheung, for their support and service in the past years. He also welcomed 12 new members, Mr Chan Chuen-wai, Professor Anthony Cheung Chun-yue, Ms Carmen Chu, Mr Fong Chung-lun, Dr Jeffrey Hung Oi-shing, Dr Jim Ka-wai, Mr Kwan King-fai, Ms Grace Kwok May-han, Professor Sunnie Lau Sing-yeung, Professor Nora Tam Fung-yee, Professor Charles Wong Man-sing, Ms Priscilla Wong Waiyee, to the Committee. "Under the sterling leadership of the Chairman, the Committee has tendered invaluable advice to the Government on important energy matters. Looking ahead, we will continue to work closely with the Committee on various energy policy matters, including decarbonisation and the promotion of renewable energy as well as energy efficiency and conservation in the community," he said.

The Committee advises the Government on energy policy, including policy matters concerning energy supply and demand, energy conservation and efficiency, and other related matters.

The full membership of the Committee is as follows:

\* Dr Conrad Wong Tin-cheung (Deputy Chairman)

\* Dr Gigi Au Yeung Chi-ting

\* Mr Keith Chan Chuk-hin

Mr Chan Chuen-wai

Professor Anthony Cheung Chun-yue

Ms Carmen Chu

\* Mr Chui Tim-wai

Mr Fong Chung-lun

Dr Jeffrey Hung Oi-shing

Professor Simon Wong Kit-lung (Chairman)

Dr Jim Ka-wai Mr Kwan King-fai

Ms Grace Kwok May-han

Professor Sunnie Lau Sing-yeung

\* Ms Donna Sit Tsz-shan

Professor Nora Tam Fung-yee

Professor Charles Wong Man-sing Ms Priscilla Wong Wai-yee

- \* Ms Elsa Yuen May-yee
- \* Permanent Secretary for Environment and Ecology (Environment) or his/her representative
- \* Director of Electrical and Mechanical Services or his/her representative
- \* Serving members