<u>Government announces appointments to</u> <u>Communications Authority</u>

The Government today (March 29) announced that the Chief Executive has re-appointed Ms Winnie Tam Wan-chi as the chairperson of the Communications Authority (CA) for a term of two years from April 1, 2019, to March 31, 2021.

The Chief Executive has also appointed two new members, Professor Vincent Lau Kin-nang and Mr Simon Wong Kwong-yeung, to the CA, and reappointed the Permanent Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development (Communications and Creative Industries) as the Vice-chairperson, and Mr Stephen Hung Wan-shun, Mrs Yvonne Law Shing Mo-han and Mr Benjamin Tang Kwokbun as members, all for a term of two years from April 1, 2019, to March 31, 2021.

Commenting on the appointments, the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Edward Yau, said, "I am pleased that Ms Tam has been reappointed as the chairperson of the CA. With her rich experience and professional background, I am confident that she will continue to lead the CA to rise to the challenges ahead in the broadcasting and telecommunications sectors."

Mr Yau welcomed the two new members to the CA, who come from the academic and research and development sectors respectively, saying that their rich experience and areas of expertise will be valuable to the CA's work. He also thanked outgoing members Mr Thomas Lo Sui-sing and Professor Xu Yan for their contributions to the CA.

Brief profiles of the newly-appointed non-official members are as follows:

Professor Vincent Lau

Professor Vincent Lau is the Chair Professor of the Department of Electronic and Computer Engineering of the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. He is currently a member of the Telecommunications Regulatory Affairs Advisory Committee which advises the Director-General of Communications on all economic and technical regulatory issues related to the development of telecommunications in Hong Kong.

Mr Simon Wong

Mr Simon Wong is the Chief Executive Officer of the Logistics and Supply Chain MultiTech R&D Centre. He is currently a member of the Assessment Panel of the Innovation and Technology Fund for Better Living, the Enterprise Support Assessment Panel and the Hong Kong Logistics Development Council.

Membership of the CA from April 1, 2019 will be as follows:

Chairperson

Ms Winnie Tam Wan-chi

Vice-chairperson

Permanent Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development (Communications and Creative Industries)

Non-official members

Ms Karen Chan Ka-yin Mr Stephen Hung Wan-shun Professor Vincent Lau Kin-nang Mrs Yvonne Law Shing Mo-han Mr Hubert Ng Ching-wah Dr Anthony William Seeto Yiu-wai Mr Benjamin Tang Kwok-bun Mr Simon Wong Kwong-yeung Professor Ray Yep Kin-man

Official member

Director-General of Communications