## <u>Government announces appointments to</u> <u>Communications Authority</u>

The Government today (March 21) announced that the Chief Executive has appointed Mr Jenkin Suen to succeed Ms Winnie Tam Wan-chi as the Chairperson of the Communications Authority (CA) for a term of two years with effect from April 1, 2025.

The Chief Executive has also reappointed the Permanent Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development as the Vice-chairperson of the CA. In addition, four incumbent members, i.e. Mr Nicholas Chan Hiu-fung, Mr Patrick Law Fu-yuen, Mr Michael Hui Wah-kit and Professor Leung Siu-fai have been reappointed, while Professor Anthony Fung Ying-him and Dr Patrick Tsie Kaiyiu have been appointed as new members. The tenure of the appointments is two years with effect from April 1, 2025.

Commenting on the appointments, the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Algernon Yau, said, "I am pleased that Mr Jenkin Suen has been appointed as the Chairperson of the CA. I believe with Mr Suen's legal background and wealth of experience in public services, he will be able to lead the CA to discharge its statutory functions as the communications and broadcasting regulator in Hong Kong, with the objectives of safeguarding the interests of the public and promoting the sustainable development of the telecommunications and broadcasting sectors. I would also like to welcome Professor Anthony Fung and Dr Patrick Tsie as new members of the CA. With their extensive experience and professional knowledge in the broadcasting and telecommunications fields respectively, they will surely provide valuable insights for the work of the CA. I am also grateful that Mr Nicholas Chan, Mr Patrick Law, Mr Michael Hui and Professor Leung Siu-fai have accepted reappointment to continue to contribute to the work of the CA.

"I extend my heartfelt gratitude to Ms Winnie Tam for her outstanding contributions during her tenure. Since taking up the chairmanship in 2018, Ms Tam has guided the CA in effectively fulfilling its regulatory functions and roles with remarkable achievements. On the broadcasting front, during her tenure, the CA has relaxed a number of requirements under the broadcasting codes of practice to keep pace with the times, thereby creating a more conducive environment for the sustainable development of the broadcasting industry. In addition, the CA has continued to handle complaints in a fair, impartial and unbiased manner to safeguard public interest. On the communications front, with the rapid advancements in communications technologies over the past few years, the CA has continued to stay ahead in formulating policies to promote communications infrastructure and technology development while maintaining fair competition in the industry, contributing to a solid foundation for Hong Kong as a regional communications hub. I would also like to express my sincere appreciation to the outgoing members Professor Vincent Lau Kin-nang and Mr Simon Wong Kwong-yeung for their contributions to the CA over the past six years," Mr Yau added.

Brief profiles of the newly appointed Chairperson and non-official members are as follows:

Mr Jenkin Suen

Mr Suen was appointed as Senior Counsel in 2019 and is a barrister and an arbitrator in Des Voeux Chambers. He also sits as a Recorder of the Court of First Instance of the High Court. He is currently the Chairman of the Copyright Tribunal and the Pharmacy and Poisons Appeal Tribunal, the Deputy Chairman of the Administrative Appeals Board, and a member of the Criminal and Law Enforcement Injuries Compensation Boards and the Air Transport Licensing Authority. He was previously the Chairman of the Appeal Tribunal Panel (Buildings).

Professor Anthony Fung Ying-him

Professor Fung is the Dean of Social Science and the Director of the Hong Kong Institute of Asia-Pacific Studies at the Chinese University of Hong Kong. He is currently a co-opted member of the Broadcast Complaints Committee under the CA, as well as a member of the Standing Committee on Language Education and Research and the Steering Committee on Strategic Development of Information Technology in Education. He has formerly served as a member of the Citizens Advisory Committee on Community Relations of the Independent Commission Against Corruption as well as the Radio Television Hong Kong Board of Advisors.

Dr Patrick Tsie Kai-yiu

Dr Tsie was formerly the Senior Director of Technical Marketing at Qualcomm International, and has previously served as a member appointed on an ad personam basis of the Telecommunications Regulatory Affairs Advisory Committee of the Office of the Communications Authority.

The membership of the CA from April 1, 2025, will be as follows:

Chairperson

Mr Jenkin Suen

Vice-chairperson

Permanent Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development

Non-official members

Dr Hubert Chan Chung-yee Mr Nicholas Chan Hiu-fung Ms Amy Fung Dun-mi Professor Anthony Fung Ying-him Mr Michael Hui Wah-kit Mr Patrick Law Fu-yuen Professor Leung Siu-fai Dr Patrick Tsie Kai-yiu Ms Wendy Yuen Miu-ling

Official member

Director-General of Communications